SNPID always messed up. Why ?

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by danielworks, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. danielworks

    danielworks Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    I used to install my libraries in Kontakt 5 and then load on K6 with any hassle but since I formatted my computer, every time I need to install any library I have to copy the SNPID in the NICT file and then match with the XML file contained in the Service Center folder. Why did it happen and is there any way to solve this thing? Never had to do this until now.
    Any tip will be very appreciated.
     
  2.  
  3. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    It has been like this on macOS for maybe 5 years or so.
    Not with every library, but often.
    Apparently 5.6.6 doesn't mess up the .xml file though.
    But it also used to crash a lot for me so I use 5.6.0
    Like I said to you before, since having to add with an older standalone version, sometimes Service Center ends up with an .xml with an SNPID # of 000.
    Why grumble when you can try libraries out for free before you buy them?
     
  4. webhead

    webhead Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Web
    As I test it, it's demo mode when you drag and drop in to K6. There's no problem if you add the same library with the given Add Library.exe
     
  5. danielworks

    danielworks Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you guys know witch is the latest 5x version that can install libraries ?
     
  6. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    All the ones that had an Add Library button?
    Maybe up to 5.7.1 ? :dunno:
    Doesn't mean it was a good one though.
    Which is why we use the 5.6.0 mostly, or some use the 5.6.6.
     
  7. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    At least read the op! macOS here! There is no AddLibrary.exe for macOS !!!
     
  8. Talula

    Talula Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    139
    5.6.6
     
  9. webhead

    webhead Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Web
    Trying to scold people on internet won't do you any good. Please don't do it again.
     
  10. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,015
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    It's nettiqeutte and the rules to actually READ at least the OP before posting!
    To make sure you aren't spamming the thread with irrelevant answers.
    You totally ignored all that and wrote something irrelevant and unrelated to the topic of the post.
    Please don't do it again.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Nasty Nasty x 1
    • List
  11. webhead

    webhead Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Web
    Can you show us where the op is talking about specific OS?
     
  12. Talula

    Talula Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    139
    first words:
    because windows cracked kontakkt have "add library" utility (or don't requires installation when using portable).
     
  13. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    664
    But there is no reason to assume that a Windows user would know that.
    I did not know that and can see no indication in the OP that this was about MAC.
     
  14. No Avenger

    No Avenger Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    Location:
    Europe
  15. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    664
    I don't see how it can be correct.
    This is in the Kontakt section with no indication of OS.
    Must we research the history if users' posts in order to avoid making off-topic replies?
    Are we to be scolded for not knowing a user's history?

    That conflicts with every case i can recall in this forum.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  16. No Avenger

    No Avenger Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    Location:
    Europe
    Oh, I forgot a line 'in other threads' and at least i don't blame you for not knowing it. How could I? :winker:
     
  17. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    664
    Well at least i assumed i missed something and reread the thread several times...
    What Smoove Grooves said might taken as a clue:
    "It has been like this on macOS for maybe 5 years or so..."
    But it really not bcause it's in the position and is worded just like a comparative statement would be .
    (Ex: "It may be that way on PC now, but it's been that way on MAC for 5 years or so...")

    Ah well... I 'disagree' with so many 'dislikes'...
    If you think someone is wrong, it should be 'disagree'. If you think they may be right but you don't like it, then maybe 'dislike'. :rofl:
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  18. Talula

    Talula Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    139
    step 1: windows users do not need version 5 to install the library, they can do it using any cracked version, including version 6.
    step 2: if user installs libraries using version 5, and then uses them in version 6, then he is not using windows.
    step 3: since kontakt is available for windows and macos, there can only be one output: he is a macos user.

    it's called logic. and it can always be used.
     
  19. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    664
    Well, what you are saying is similar to a demand to prove a negative.
    I don't know why everyone might use whatever versions they do.
    I used Kontakt 5.x.x normal version for a long time, then i began to use version 6.x portable and kept 5.x.x as i had projects that relied on that.
    It's not about logic when the necessary knowledge upon which to base the logic does not exist.
    Excuse me.
    I will just keep the fuck out of Kontakt threads from here out to avoid stepping into some MAC minefield.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  20. webhead

    webhead Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    412
    Location:
    Web
    I wouldn't write an answer if @Smoove Grooves didn't disrespect me by saying "at least read the op". I'm really disturbed for being such a discussion. Plus being accused for spamming.
    @No Avenger, he was not correct in his first sentence. It's a wrong guess about me.

    Windows users cannot do the same? Maybe by choice? Logic needs some philosophy, wider thinking. In addition, even if you're completely right, I don't have to know how kontakt works in different systems. The op liked my first post even it's not useful for him. Smoove disliked the same one. This discussion is about his behaviour, not about an OS or kontakt.
     
  21. jazzzz

    jazzzz Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    145
    Sorry to tell you but your initial assumption is wrong as if you had been able to add your libraries without the SNPID workaround before having formatted your mac. The libraries that make Kontakt null the SNPID code in .xml have always had the same behavior since v5.7.
    So, the question is what was your Kontakt version installed before the formatting?

    Edit: it's likely that you didn't have those kind of libraries in the past that required the SNPID trick if you're sure you had never had to do these kind of tricks with them.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - SNPID always messed Forum Date
SNPIDer - handle SNPIDs on Mac ! Mac / Hackintosh May 4, 2020
Argh! Another SNPID problems... Kontakt Aug 24, 2019
Kontakt SNPID, trouble with finding unused numbers Kontakt Mar 26, 2019
Mac OS X - 5.7.3 - no libraries saving (Not SNPID issue) Kontakt Mar 13, 2018
Unable to load library, possible .nicnt or SNPID error Kontakt Sep 28, 2017
Loading...