You have been denied permission to access this folder.

Discussion in 'PC' started by MrLyannMusic, Mar 23, 2018.

  1. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    Alright people, this is a weird one,

    i have lost ownership to some of my Soundbank Folders,

    * Spectrasonics
    * Sample Tank
    * SSD4 Library

    my setup is a little complicated and somehow organized, well at least for me, i have few Hard driver that are only For Kontakt, and a seperate drive For other Libraries that has their own Plugin, such as Omnisphere, Addictive Drums 2, and SSD...

    lately i have lost the access to some of my folders that i mentioned, anyway just before you say anything i have been googling this for sometime, and tried ALL tricks that was offered by the internet, with no luck even downloaded an application(s) for this with no luck...

    The thing is when i took the hard drive an put it into my hackintosh i was able to enter, read, rename, basically access my files and they were all there, tried renaming the folder first time, no luck on windows side, tried resetting the permission using a little app on mac with no luck, and i'm afraid that even if i can copy them to another drive i wont be able to read or use the file...

    so i'm here asking for help, if anyone encountered this problem before, and found a solution, hope you share it with me...
     
  2.  
  3. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    nobody faced this before ?
     
  4. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    906
    Exactly what operating system are you using?
     
  5. ZUK

    ZUK Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    83
    Try the same into your folders.
     
  6. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    Oh Sorry Windows 10 x64 Build 17604
     
  7. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    I have the Trilian, Omnisphere and Keyscape in the folder... yet:


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. BaSsDuDe

    BaSsDuDe Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    244
    Ok you need to login as administrator, not yourself. In case you do not know how rather than a long-winded explanation do that with the link below for Windows 10.

    You need to check while logged in as administrator, that you are a member of the administrators group. This gives you full control as you know.
    The only way to change anything seems like through this account.
    You should be able to navigate into the STEAM folder or wherever the directories are giving you headaches and check your permissions while logged in as administrator and change to give you full control.
    Once it has done all the sub-directories and added you in permissions which might happen.... then log out and go back into an admin command prompt and disable the admin account back to default.

    Try this. No harm in checking.

    https://www.ghacks.net/2014/11/12/how-to-enable-the-hidden-windows-10-administrator-account/

    P.S -Also critical - make sure your DAW opens as administrator[run as i.e] every time. You won't get any ugly cannot access messages that might occur with hidden system folders that some files seem to hide in.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2018
  9. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    alright i'll do that first thing tomorrow and i'll keep you updated, thank you.
     
  10. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    906

    Eloquently put. That would be my advice also!
     
  11. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    alright i have solved this, with an even weirder solution, as i said earlier i have put the driver into my second machine running High Sierra 10.13.3, copied the files into my hackintosh's drive the, copied them back on my main machine via network, everything seems to be working, as expected now...
     
  12. Aileron

    Aileron Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Holland / England
    Have a drink.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  13. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    906
    I need one too, just from reading all that!
     
  14. MMJ2017

    MMJ2017 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    1,166
    fine sir

    http://www.itprotoday.com/management-mobility/taking-ownership-file-or-folder-command-line
     
  15. Aileron

    Aileron Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Holland / England
    Here is a registry key that will add "Take Ownership" command to the Explorer Context menu. Copy purple lines below to .txt file, name it and save. Change .txt to .reg and click to add to registry.

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas]
    @="Take Ownership"
    "NoWorkingDirectory"=""

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas\command]
    @="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F"
    "IsolatedCommand"="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F"

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\runas]
    @="Take Ownership"
    "NoWorkingDirectory"=""

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\runas\command]
    @="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" /r /d y && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F /t"
    "IsolatedCommand"="cmd.exe /c takeown /f \"%1\" /r /d y && icacls \"%1\" /grant administrators:F /t"
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2018
  16. Aileron

    Aileron Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Holland / England
    You may undo (remove it) again by using this one:

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\runas]

    [-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\runas]
     
  17. bluerover

    bluerover Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    473
Loading...
Loading...