windows 7 and usb3

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by wasgedn, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    somehave problems to get it working some not...
    i got it not working...got chipset driver usb3 driver but no bios XHCI hand-off option to enable disable
    have somebody experience with that ?
     
  2.  
  3. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    ..
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
  4. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    the usb3 driver has to fit to youre chipset
     
  5. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    ..
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
  6. Olymoon

    Olymoon Impossible is not a fact. It is an opinion. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    795
    Which is your mother board?
    Are you using win7 x64 or win7 sp1 x64?

    I'm using usb3 under win7sp1x64 without any problems.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. Andrew

    Andrew AudioSEX Maestro Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Location:
    Between worlds
    Yes, that happens sometimes unfortunately.
    You have to slipstream USB3 drivers into the Win7 installation disk (I assume you have troubles installing). It's not a super complicated procedure, but some skills are required.
    NTLite: https://www.ntlite.com/

    And F6 drivers for your mobo
     
  8. Pereira

    Pereira Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    52
    ????
    I have installed two USB3 Cards on my old Internet PC and on my DAW there are original MOBO ones....Everything is working well. On the first one sometimes I have problems about exceeding power supply to the ports, and sometime (rarely) they are only recognized as USB2. The chipset is important, Nec ones are really better
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  9. statik

    statik Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    330
    Location:
    under your bed
    i had a shitload of trouble when i reinstalled win10 to bootcamp, win7 install doesnt have native usb3 drivers, i did read something about not using a usb3 stick (something about usb2 in a usb3 port should work) but i'm pretty sure it didnt help shit. my mistake was not using the bootcamp installer in osx, somehow osx activated the usb3 in the win7 install. the other option would have been to slipstream the drivers like andrew said with ntlite
     
  10. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,443
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    Have you tried using TeamOS' latest Windows 7 with USB3 drivers slipstreamed in it? They update it regularly about every month, even the May 2018 one should work.
     
  11. Legotron

    Legotron Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    386
    Location:
    Hyperborea
    I have one of the first MBs with usb3, i need to manually install renesas usb3 drivers every time to make it work properly, and it still has powering issues so I only use them for mouse and midi controller, soundcard too risky
     
  12. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    thx a lot for replys..

    i got a new set of drivers extra for my acer predator g5910 i7 2600... i try out now...

    yea ntlite...i feared it was just traing last time...



    here is method to wrap (i blv lol)

    https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/guide-installing-windows-7-on-a-kaby-lake-pc.18779614/

    btw..dont install this updates on win 7


    KB2882822 - Update adds ITraceRelogger interface support
    KB2952664 - Compatibility update for keeping Windows up-to-date in Windows 7. Adds telemetry
    KB3021917 - Update to Windows 7 SP1 for performance improvements. Adds telemetry
    KB3068708 - Update for customer experience and diagnostic telemetry
    KB3080149 - Update for customer experience and diagnostic telemetry
    KB3184143 - Remove software related to the Windows 10 free upgrade offer
    KB3185330 - October 2016 Security & Quality Rollup
    KB3188740 - November 2016 Security & Quality Rollup for .NET Framework 3.5.1
    KB3192403 - October 2016 Preview Of Monthly Quality Rollup
    KB3196686 - November 2016 .NET Framework Preview Of Monthly Quality Rollup
    KB3197869 - November Preview Of Monthly Quality Rollup
    KB3197868 - November 2016 Security & Quality Rollup
    KB3205402 - December 2016 Security & Quality Rollup for .NET Framework 3.5.1 & 4.6.2
    KB3207752 – December 2016 Security & Quality Rollup
    INTEL SYSTEM - Absolutely no info. Dodgy update from Microsoft. May contain telemetry
    INTEL USB - Absolutely no info. Dodgy update from Microsoft. May contain telemetry
     
  13. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    sinwave can you drop name of the tm os rls...i guess its not Windows 7 Luxury Edition V.3 X86x64 2015
    -----
    i got sp1 ultimate x64 olymoon....
    -------------------------
    i think to remember enterprise or ultimate have no benefit over win7pro for audio users btw
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
  14. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    i hope it work but when not ntlite i comin.......or even not....i dunno yet..
    usb3 is just for fast data transfer not lateny or so...
    i have read audio gear uses usb2 anyway....
     
  15. Cav Emp

    Cav Emp Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    idk what slipstream means, but I'm kinda guessing this is why my Push 2 display never fully worked until after I upgraded to Windows 10. All my USB ports were USB3 and Push 2 didn't seem to recognize that there was enough bandwidth available for the waveform and meter displays. Ableton support had basically nothing to offer except "try switching to Windows 10" which made me super pissed at the time. Even Win 10 didn't work until I reinstalled the USB drivers on disc that came with my mobo

    Anyway, I don't mean to derail this thread. Just a light bulb went on when I read your comment
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  16. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    but wait...push use usb3 ?
     
  17. Legotron

    Legotron Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    386
    Location:
    Hyperborea
    Push 2 use usb 2
     
  18. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
  19. Legotron

    Legotron Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    386
    Location:
    Hyperborea
  20. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,443
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    Just go to TeamOS' website, press "torrents", press "Windows 7" on the left and look for any "
    Windows 7 Ultimate Sp1 X64 En-us xxxxxxx (usb3.0) Pre-activated=-team Os=-" :wink: These have USB3 drivers in them. I would probably download the latest release now, especially if using NVMe SSD as there were some updates related to NVMe lately.

    edit: yes, Ultimate is actually harder to optimise for audio as it has even more unnecessary garbage in it. Maybe go for one of "more in one" installs and install Windows 7 professional, but make sure they slipstreamed USB3 drivers in it. I'll check for some other installations later. I have no time right now. :sad:
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018 at 8:16 PM
  21. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Germany
    thx a lot mate....i kno the site...but alien,james bond ,super dupa OS and so on..now i kno what to hunt...

    this site makes ntlite spare-able ...i kno..i kno heh heh...but youre win7 lite version would be the best...dont dare to not upload if you ever finaly make one pal...

    EDIT when not signed in i couldnt see all entrys thats why thanx again..
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018 at 8:46 PM
Loading...
Loading...