windows 10 ltsb vs windows 7

Discussion in 'PC' started by plasticvibe, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. virusg

    virusg Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    near you
    can you add some info on this?... driver or searches you made?... I also made a thread long ago... optimisation must start from the mainboard... it was about studio one ... c states etc... it must be here somewhere
     
  2. Zenarcist

    Zenarcist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Yep, it was the main board, I sent DriverMax off to go and find some new updates. I thought the laptop would turn out to be a bit underpowered, but it does all that I need, and I can also now run my audio interface comfortably on the lowest buffer setting. Not bad for an impulse Xmas sale buy :)
     
  3. Von_Steyr

    Von_Steyr Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3,139
    Likes Received:
    2,485
    Location:
    Europe
    You just hurt my feelings. The fact that i have no future, oh boy, what should i do? I want to be hip. :dunno:
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  4. taskforce

    taskforce Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    Studio 54
    Meh, unfortunately sometimes i check threads without logging in first and i see the ignored ones.
    The only pet my neighbor has, is a troll named Glorb. It has a tattoo that reads "corporate slave" and suffers from severe identity crisis. Just sometime ago it was on another thread calling r2r thieves, now it's encouraging peeps to use pirate win10 ltsb.
     
  5. Von_Steyr

    Von_Steyr Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    3,139
    Likes Received:
    2,485
    Location:
    Europe
    Glorg and Mindy. Glord help me, but i thought that tv show was pure glod.
     
  6. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    370
    Location:
    On the Lake
    I'm not sure how much it has been posted here but with that new Intel CPU issue you are going to want to run your DAW offline or loose 10%-30% of your power very soon. Once those updates are in you are foked so do yourself a favor and take your DAW offline ASAP!
     
  7. JudoLudo

    JudoLudo Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    27
    hi, what do you use to calculate DPC? LatencyMon and DPC Latency Checker?
     
  8. Zenarcist

    Zenarcist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    I use LatencyMon, DPC Latency Checker doesn't work with Window 10.
     
  9. Blorg

    Blorg Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    77
    As long as DPCs never spike over, say, 1ms (1,000µs), they barely figure in your DAW's latency.
     
  10. Zenarcist

    Zenarcist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Yeah, but I was hitting peaks over 2,000µs before. After some bad experiences I will try to limit any big jumps in DPC latency with further optimisation, so I'm happy to see it as low as possible. Win 10 is a very hyper-active OS, it's always attempting to do something in the background :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2018
Loading...
Loading...