windows 10 ltsb vs windows 7

Discussion in 'PC' started by plasticvibe, Nov 14, 2017 at 2:30 PM.

  1. plasticvibe

    plasticvibe Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi guys
    For a DAW what OS would you advice for faster and smoother running?
    Windows 7 or Windows 10 ltsb?
    I'll install it on an SSD for a Dell Latitude M4800, with i7 and 32gb ram.
    I am used to windows 7 but eventually I'll have to switch in a future when the developers will drop the support for windows 7.
    Any advice would be very welcome.
    Thanks in advance
    Cheers
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    "I am used to windows 7 but eventually I'll have to switch in a future when the developers will drop the support for windows 7."

    When I realized I was approaching same situation, and after testing Windows 10 for more than a year, I finally made up my mind and decided to switch onto MacOS year ago, I went the hackintosh path for my desktop workstation (6-core i7 at 4.3GHz, 32GB DDR4 ram), later bought also a pristine-condition MacBook Pro 13" mid-2012 (i7, 16GB ram, 500GB SSD, 1TB HDD) for a really great price, and I have no reason to move back to Windows anytime soon.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. plasticvibe

    plasticvibe Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have macs too but as a DAW unless you are using Logic PCs are in my opinion better much more stuff available.
    Windows is what it is but Apple stuff hardware and macOS not getting any better.
    I have the MacBook Pro 13" mid-2012 too with mavericks on as Sierra was slow and not so compatible.
    This dell I got it really cheap and could be great windows workhorse...
    Still undecided between W7 and W10_ltsb as few forum members say that it's a great OS better than seven...
     
  5. JudoLudo

    JudoLudo Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'm using Win10 LTSB since years, IMHO the best Windows platform for music, at the moment. of course, you still have to optimize the system.. if you don't, you can't expect to work without issues. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • List
  6. plasticvibe

    plasticvibe Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Any optimization tips and tricks or some links to get me going please. Thanks
     
  7. JudoLudo

    JudoLudo Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    27
    just google "windows 10 optimization", there are tons of material. and, tons of material about music optimization.
     
  8. plasticvibe

    plasticvibe Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you JudoLudo
     
  9. grabme

    grabme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    18
    Been using Windows 10 from day one and not had any issues on multiple pcs. Would never go back to 7, it looks too dated, can't fault 10.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  10. pehierre

    pehierre Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    black viper can give you some clues
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  11. pehierre

    pehierre Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    win7 is fine but dead soon , you d better learn about win 10 optimisation tricks
     
  12. Recoil

    Recoil Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    10
    Win 7 is not dead, as long as the equipment works, I did not install windows for 7 years, works perfectly, I do not intend to change for cosmetic reasons.
     
  13. thecow

    thecow Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    LTSB is very good. With modern computers you won't gain much in term of performance compared to Pro, of course it's a little bit lighter/not "bloated" with store apps and those background processes, but its main force imho is it's rock stable, and without major update every 6 month (and you can totally disable telemetry on Enterprise versions, like this one...)

    No need to do much sincerely for optimization, most of them are similar to w7, or "cosmetic".
    I rather use gpedit to tweak also, powerful tool.

    You can start here :
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/repo-windows-10-telemetry-repository.63874/
    https://www.tweakhound.com/2015/08/10/my-windows-10-tweaks/
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/windows-10-tweaks-fixes.62516/

    MDL forum is the place to go for windows related informations, tools etc.
     
  14. bahador

    bahador Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    5
    i switched back to win 7 from 10 a couple of months ago and im happy with my decision cause everything works fine unlike 10, win 10 updates is a pain in the ass.
    besides when they stop support for win 7 you can then switch to win 10, its not like things work differently in win 10, just looks better if u ask me
     
  15. KidPix

    KidPix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    11
  16. plasticvibe

    plasticvibe Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    thanx guys will dig it asap
     
  17. pehierre

    pehierre Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    i tried ltsb version2016,but i ran back to win 10 entreprises, with some tweaks run fine for audio producing and live play , cortana is needed for start menu but is isolated,ltsb was lacking of dôme important multimedia dll to run my config smoothly
     
  18. junh1024

    junh1024 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    222
    Why is everyone acting like WIndows 8 doesn't exist? It's got the speed of W10 but without the funny business
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  19. johndoehizzle

    johndoehizzle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    this is from experience: been running windows 7 for years. i had tried windows 10 but didnt like it,the way it looks,the app thing,i dont know.you can use windows classic shell to make it look normal but thats not the point. i for some reason(never satisfied with what i have),gave windows 10 another go (DOWNGRADE!). all ran smooth,etc. until it installed this "windows 10 fall creators update" . so basically the update screwed things up,computer was stuck on a boot loop and /or the update wouldnt go over 88%. tried updating through an iso of the update, and no go.same issue. good thing i had all my files backed up.

    finally ended up actually "UPGRADING" back to windows 7 x64 ultimate. hope i never look into a newer version of winodws anytime soon. windows 7 is simple,just like XP. no bs.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  20. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    if you can find all the drivers on DELL website available for Win10 64bit, as well as all the peripherial devices Win10 drivers (audio interface for ex.), then I'd say there is no reason not to get Win10 with that M4800 beast,
    since you cannot really obtain Win10 Enterprise LTSB legally, I assume you wanna go "test things out" way, best optimization you can do is entirely disable network, indexing, prefetching, pagefile and plenty other things which make zero sense to use in modern world nowadays
     
  21. KidPix

    KidPix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    11
    I do not have Cortana installed and the Start Menu runs just fine.
    Cortana was removed from the installation ISO.
    No DLL is missing here, maybe you were using the N version
    http://www.itprotoday.com/windows-server/what-are-windows-10-n-and-kn-editions
    but there is multimedia pack for the N version
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...edition-of-windows-10-version-1703-april-2017
     
Loading...
Loading...