Windows 10 build 1903 showing huge latency spikes...SOLVED!

Discussion in 'PC' started by Daskeladden, May 29, 2019.

  1. RealBananas

    RealBananas Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    23
    Exactly, going forward is very important! But please, everyone, there is no need to haste so much and install every update as soon as it is available. Install the "service packs" after they have been properly tested and then keep your setup stable. (And also only if it is really necessary.)
    Just think about how much of your valuable lifetime you wasted just in order to be constantly up-to-date. :guru:
     
  2. defaultuser

    defaultuser Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    in the end i'm going to get nearer....
    upload_2019-6-2_11-36-30.png
    while ProTools running, youtube running, a "normal" use of my PC.
     
  3. Moonlight

    Moonlight Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Earth
    I am curious, does 1903 have any advantages over the regular up to date version when it comes to make music?
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  4. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    238
    you can have more plugins running, but only "big" production will notice this feature
     
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  5. evolasme

    evolasme Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    47
    I've spent most of the day on this and here's what I've found.....
    the ntokrnl spikes in the latency check app at least on my system are false positives
    before I was getting MASSIVE glitches in Cubase and thought for sure it was due to the spikes caused by nt0krnl spikes after doing an in-place repair I opened Cubase and was getting a driver installation pop up with all kinds of errors. I thought it was for my audio interface then after some digging I found out what it was. waves soundgrid driver!!!! I uninstalled waves and boom Cubase is again rock solid! no more performance display spiking and all is normal. so if you have waves installed. it might be something to look at.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  6. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    238
    Uninstalled Waves did not help still got massive ntokrnl.exe spikes
     
  7. swavenation

    swavenation Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    45
    What kinda apps you have running in background?? Do you notice any spikes when using your DAW? I also think its a false positive
     
  8. Moonlight

    Moonlight Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Earth
    I still get those tiny odd clicks :( any suggestion is welcome !
     
  9. MORTIX

    MORTIX Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hi, what version i better recommended for produce music? Home? Pro? Education? Enterprise? Does this choice have any impact on performance with DAW, backgrounds apps, latency, compatibility, etc?
    Thanks
     
  10. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    238
    nope, same what version you chooses. That being said I have the Home version and maybe the latency issue is only on that version? Maybe professional don't have this issue. One thing I have learned about Windows is that it works in mysterious ways.....Two identical pc's with the same hardware and same Windows OS can act completely different.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  11. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    238
    This is real a latency issue that causes clicks and pops. So no this is not a false positive. Many people have this issue
     
  12. JudoLudo

    JudoLudo Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    35
    ok guys, today I opened Cubase and played back something I was working on. after some seconds, BAM my audio got interrupted for a second, a little jump. so I opened LatencyMon and ran a test. well: started the test and played back the same thing on Cubase, then playing Keyscape with many notes and sustain, but............... nothing happened for 30+ minutes. my system is ok for audio, said LatencyMon.

    the result is, that I may have all the possible issues and problems in my DAW, but when I run LatencyMon, they DISAPPEAR! :bleh:

    the solution to Windows clicks and pops is LATENCYMON. just run a test before using your DAW, and you'll never have a problem anymore. :bow:

    lol

    what the hell...
    :rofl:
     
  13. Dejanco

    Dejanco Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    Not work XLN Addictive Drums 2 after update win 10 to version 1903

    Wrong computer id
     
  14. swavenation

    swavenation Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    45
    Was in multiple sessions recording vocals at low latency and a bunch of effects with studio one using presonus 192. ntoskrnl.exe popped up for me i noticed when i had unnecessary things running in background, but never bothered me in a session maybe because i usually close everything? My system is like half as good as yours don't see how you are having these pops and clicks issues man, but hopefully microsoft addresses it soon!
     
  15. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    335
    Location:
    felixstowe england
  16. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    238
    You must let it run much longer than that. And when everything seems fine restart and take the test again
     
  17. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    335
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    ran the test again and got similar results as you , did you solve it yet
     
  18. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    238
    nope
     
  19. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    335
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    strange because my pc is top spec, i7 8700k, 32gb ram, rme fireface audio firewire
     
  20. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    335
    Location:
    felixstowe england
Loading...
Loading...