Windows 10 build 1903 showing huge latency spikes...SOLVED!

Discussion in 'PC' started by Daskeladden, May 29, 2019.

  1. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    235
    So I never had spikes in the 1809 build. I hope this is a Latencymon issue and not a Windows issue.
    So the "driver" that shows huge spikes is: ntoskrnl.exe

    [​IMG]

    If this is a Windows 10 issue it is a huge blow. Luckily I have a one month old clone of my system, but I hope I don't have to go back to that.
    Other people have reported the same issue on Reddit:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comments/bu34xv/update_1903_high_dpc_latency_issues/

    Also something called CLASSPNP.SYS shows high execution:
    [​IMG]


    Edit:
    hi, I seemed to a solved some of the worst problems, but I still have some spikes. What you must do is to:
    Turn off all overclocking!!!!!
    Then test latencymon on the default settings in bios. Also update graphic card driver and change setting first to Optimal Power, then restart pc then change back to Prefered Maximum Setting. Do the same thing with power setting change to High performance then restart then back to Ultimate setting. But the most important thing is to turn off overclocking, then you can turn overclocking back on again. Actually pretty logical that an major update would be in conflict with your old overclocking.... Here are screenshot from my new result:
    [​IMG]
    Not excellent but it's getting there

    Edit2:
    I still get huge spikes from ntoskrnl.exe
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
    • Interesting Interesting x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    Location:
    Europe
    Does this apply to fresh installations?
     
  4. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    235
    I think so cause another guy at gearsluz that has the same problem also tried a fresh install with the same result. I give it a couple of more days than I switch back to 1809 and manually switch of the update.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  5. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    thx for info ill stay with 1809 as long as i can untill they fix it.
     
  6. Epidemico

    Epidemico Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Alano di Piave (BL), Italy
    I still have win 10 1803 and i have no issues at all, some friends of mine had different issues with 1809 (not only related to audio) ad they all switched back to 1803, to my experience it's still the less buggy version, but there may be differences between different hardware builds too.
    I receive a message for udating system video drivers (i have Xeon E3-1275 v6) but is related on new win build so i will not upgrade anything until it will become more stable.
     
  7. pizzafresser

    pizzafresser Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    32
    I think it's better to leave your audio workstation PC off the internet and don't install any Windows updates. Windows updates are notorious for breaking stuff.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  8. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    235
    yes, early on the 1809 build had some major issues for many people. This was fixed for most people with some minor Windows updates. I never had any big problems with the 1809 build. I should have waited a couple of months on the 1903 build but I like to take risks sometimes. Now I regret it.
    Sometimes I wonder who tests this stuff, I mean it wouldn't be that hard to have a couple of music creators to test this new version before they release it.
     
  9. Epidemico

    Epidemico Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Alano di Piave (BL), Italy
    You don't need to stay off internet, just don't do automatic updates, if your machine is running fine you just don't need to update or at least personally i wait a ton of time before updates and check a lot online for people experiences and stability problems, i never turned off my machine from the internet, just only sometimes for some installations that needs to, it's ten years already without internet off, with win 7 before and win 10 now, never had issues, i had spikes before on win7 with ableton but it was petty normal since it was a 2008 machine.
     
  10. Epidemico

    Epidemico Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Alano di Piave (BL), Italy
    I just wait and check, and really don't bother updating everytime if you don't really need it (compatibility problems), if your machine runs fine, just wait.
     
  11. Epidemico

    Epidemico Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Alano di Piave (BL), Italy
    I suggest you to turn back to the previous more stable version for you instead of going crazy trying figuring out the problem. :)
     
  12. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    235
    yepp seems to be the easiest solution. I don't think this problem is fixable for others than a Windows programmer
     
  13. Epidemico

    Epidemico Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Alano di Piave (BL), Italy
    Exactly, after a lot of years of experience with various bugs i will never try to figure out to solve problems that i'm pretty sure are not related to my hardware anymore.
     
  14. kokorico

    kokorico Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had exactly the same problems. I tested the 1903 on a Reason session and it was horrible. Crackles, glitches. While I didn't have any problems with the 1803 I came back to. It's the same for Reaper!
    Is it due to patches for intel vulnerabilities? That's incredible!
    I installed win update stop. Il will try to udapte manually for 1803.
    ASus z270 Prime A
    I7 7700K OC to 4.8 ghz
    16 gig ram corsair veangence 2400
    Power Supply Corsair 650 watts
    SSD samsung 970 plus 250 gigs + ssd for banks, tracks, samples
    Antelope Discrete4
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  15. kokorico

    kokorico Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    5.gif Back to 1803. Everything seems OK.

    5.gif
     
  16. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    235
    Wonder if it's only Windows related or how Windows communicate with the Asus chipset/Intel CPU. Maybe a combination. That is bad news for me cause it seems like Asus has stopped updating/supporting the Z170 chipset. Has not been any update for over year on the bios and the other stuff like the chipset; two years.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2019
  17. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    why people have to jump on the latest updates is beyond me, but microsoft should have got the bugs fixed first, the same with studio one 4.5 and live 10.1, wait untill a few versions are out and bugs fixed, if your system runs ok now then why risk buggy updates
     
  18. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    235
    Here is a video of the issue:
     
  19. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    thats bad shit, you got an image to go back to 1809?
     
  20. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    235
    yes, a one month old clone. So it's not end of the world. What I don't understand is why I did not do a clone right before I updated.
     
  21. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    321
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    i just did that, but i delayed the 1903 update for at least a year, sorry microsoft but you screw up too many times
     
Loading...
Loading...