Will Superior Drummer 2 be able to use EZ Drummer 2 Expansion Packs

Discussion in 'Software' started by korniceman3000, Nov 11, 2019.

  1. korniceman3000

    korniceman3000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi everyone,

    Hope you won't mind helping me with this question. I am still currently using Toontrack Superior Drummer 2 v2.4.4 (32 bit) running on an old FL Studio 7. Will I be able to use any EZ Drummer expansion packs?

    Thank you for the help. It is much appreciated.
     
  2.  
  3. RiffMaster

    RiffMaster Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    58
    My experience is yes pretty much all the ones i ever tried worked perfekt , i just switched to SD3 & cant ever go back lol , dude just install em and run with it , youll soon find out .....................
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. xoso

    xoso Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    48
    if you have ezdrummer installed sd2 and sd3 will immediately add them because it knows where the default folder is. I have never installed Superior drummer 2 or 3 and not have the ezx kits automatically in list. Then it's just pointing SD to your sdx folder and that's pretty much it. All the midi files for both exz and sdx go into the same folders, all presets should be present. No actions should need to be taken what so ever unless you changed the path of the ezx kits and you need to add it as a folder to search libraries in like sdx folders.
     
  5. xoso

    xoso Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    48
    If you just have the kits just do the last thing I said and add the folder like you would add your sdx kit folders.
     
  6. xoso

    xoso Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    48
    but as RiffMaster said just get 3. The engine upgrade alone... No more xdrums or any of that non-sense they changed it over to the ezdrummer 2 type of interface so you can simple change like the snare to any snare from any sdx or ezx kit. So even just using sd2 instead of sd3 is going backwards in time. And once you try 3 you'll never want to use 2 again.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. korniceman3000

    korniceman3000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
  8. taskforce

    taskforce Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    Location:
    Studio 54
    Hey man, links to warez are not allowed in the forum, read the rules please, cheers
     
  9. Talula

    Talula Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    11
    extreme bdsm level:wow:
     
  10. xoso

    xoso Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    48
    The SD3 Library is not the avatar kit from SD2. It's a completely who new set of kits. But there are a few killer pieces in it. But in general the default sd3 library I only use sparingly like when looking for the perfect cymbal or something. It also has some really good sounding toms in some of the default sd3 kits. Other than it's not needed. Any EZX kit will still show up and SDX the program has the folder for will still work.

    But the problem is Alot of the SD2 kits dont have free updates and therefor do not work in SD3 except for replacement parts unless you own the libraries and updated them through the toontrack download updater. But honestly if you are just using EZX kit's dont both with SD. 90% of people dont need Superior Drummer only EZdrummer. And while EZDrummer wont play SDX kits there is an EZX strip down of almost every sdx kit now except for older ones.

    And honestly I don't know about the warez side anymore. I use it for professional pieces so I have to have legit copies of everything [takes almost 6 hours to register everything from ezx,sdx,ezkeys, ezmix. But

    Point is you probably dont even need superior drummer unless you are that advanced in audio production and spending 8-16 hours minimal duplicating or creating custom kits.
     
  11. xoso

    xoso Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    48
    Basically unless Superior Drummer is in this screen 80% of the time you probably only need ezdrummer.[​IMG]
     
  12. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Location:
    Europe
    The thing is, as @xoso and @RiffMaster well pointed out, SD3 is quite better.
    Even more important as I have an old computer and seems you too: even if you have an old computer SD3 resource usage is quite similar to EZD2.
    That is, of course, if you only use EZX libraries and don't use the extensive mixing and processing features uniques to SD3.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  13. xoso

    xoso Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yeah sd kits went from being 16-28 gigs to 60-130 gigs between 2-3 resource wise Xupito is on spot with that one. The plugin itself takes very little resources but an average Superior Drummer kit can take 1-5 gigs of memory just to have open compared to an ezx kit being 300mb-700mb memory per kit. But SD3 won't run any slower than SD2 the resource usage is all in the kits, how many lawyers per piece and how many mic and effects are in the mixing/routing. But then again I route out all my channels to my main mixer but that's a more advanced way of using it and can be a pain in the ass to set up.
     
  14. RiffMaster

    RiffMaster Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    58
    Agreed but just a little tip for those who might not know , if you right click the top right box where the memory is loading when you load a kit and tick the cached box only the stuff you need loads so after you play the midi once through your good to go and only using the memory needed, been a bloody life saver to me .....................
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  15. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    330
    I like the interface of SD3 but made one kit of Avatar because i liked the 4 ride cymbals, etc.
    From that I made a couple of different kits and remapped the assignments to make them more obvious for working in piano roll.
    Remapping means that I can't use the midi with anything other than SD3 without a fair amount of reworking, so it is a risk...
    Although they use internal variation on hits, i really like the ability to easily access all kinds of hits in a visual range on the piano roll.
    Like this: sd3 midi map.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Superior Drummer able Forum Date
Superior Drummer 3 using your own samples Mixing and Mastering Jan 8, 2020
Superior drummer 3 presets question newbie Software Dec 27, 2019
Superior drummer 3 library problem. Software Dec 26, 2019
Tip for using Superior Drummer 3 Mixing and Mastering Dec 22, 2019
Superior Drummer 3 - No option to select Multichannel Outputs defaults? Software Dec 6, 2019
Loading...