Why is my bass not "clear" or "rough" enough?

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by lost_soul, Oct 16, 2017.

1. lost_soul

lost_soul Member

Hey guys,

I am still relatively new to music production, and am quite frustrated because I am not able to get the bass of my productions to be "clear" or "rough" enough.

For instance, below is a quick extract of something I am working on.

I am not sure why I can't hear it enough, compared to this track for instance when it starts at 1:04 ?

Is it a matter of volume? or mastering? or some effect I don't know?

Thanks for the tips guys

3. thantrax

thantrax Audiosexual

It's a matter of skill... I suppose.

4. nikon

nikon Platinum Record

It's all about sounds choice, compression, dynamics, side chaining, experience, final mixing stage and luck :) A decades of learning...
    I would suggest to you instead:
    - Finish your track, don't bother yourself with overall sound
    - In final stage, put reference track together with yours and play with overall sound, compression, dynamics etc...
    - Also, learn more about mixing, dynamics

5. MMJ2017

MMJ2017 Audiosexual

yes.

6. thantrax

thantrax Audiosexual

Agree.
    I'm still try to figure out how to set every single sound source on stage and glue them all avoiding the jam-effect.

Last edited: Oct 16, 2017
  7. spyfx

spyfx Guest

@lost_soul hi my friend,in my humble opinion it seems that in your track the kick is fighting with the bass,in the same space.
    Try to low cut the bass so it sits above the kick,as in most 4 to the floor gernes the kick is the main driving force.
    Sidechaining the bass to the kick also will help.
    In some projects saturating a bit the bass especially on the upper spectrum of it will help it cut it thru.
    Try to do some m/s processing on your master bus making things mono below 200hz as a starting point.
    Hope this helps you :wink:.

8. RMorgan

RMorgan Audiosexual