Why does NI Kontakt sounds diffrent inside the daw?

Discussion in 'FL Studio' started by DDHARD, Apr 9, 2021.

  1. DDHARD

    DDHARD Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Sweden
    Its sounds lighter and thin inside fl-studio and when i runt it from desktop it's sound richer and nice!
    Edit i have no FX plugins on my master in fl!
     
  2.  
  3. starkid84

    starkid84 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    74
    Make sure you turn off the Fruity limiter on the master bus in FL. If I am not mistaken, it is enabled by default.

    Many people don't realize this and wonder why FL appears to sound different than other daws.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. metaller

    metaller Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Persia
    Also, check if your audio interface is processing the sound. It has happened to me before that I recorded and mixed a whole song into a compressor and I realized later! :rofl:
     
  5. raslerx

    raslerx Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Clear your master channel, and make sure to use the same audio Output, ASIO4ALL is known to color the sound so use FL Asio instead :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  6. dee steve

    dee steve Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ever figure this out?
     
  7. BaSsDuDe

    BaSsDuDe Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2021
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    72
    It is a very rare occasion that a developer programs the standalone version to be completely different inside a DAW. The only scenario being a different interface to accommodate vst/aax/au etc...Even then, they rarely change the sounds unless they have specific presets which have built-in FX inside the plugin. In Kontakt, they do not unless as a user you change something and say yes to saving the settings.
    99% of the time, if it sounds different, it is the DAW and the chain of inserts, buses/ settings that do this.
     
Loading...
Loading...