Who fancies a computer hardware challenge? Need help installing PCIe card!

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Bunford, Dec 10, 2016.

1. Bunford

Bunford Audiosexual

Ok, I've been making custom computers for myself for several years now and have always managed to resolve issues and never had any real problems. I am running Windows 10 Pro 64 bit and latest build, regularly keeping my system clean and drivers etc updated. My base system specs are:

- Asus Sabertooth X79 Motherboard
    - Intel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition CPU
    - 64GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistix RAM
    - Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX970 GPU

However, I've just bought a 7 USB3.0 port PCIe card to expand my USB capabilities and am having a nightmare trying to install it. The item I bought is this: http://orico.cc/goods.php?id=6284

It said it's compatible with Windows 10 and was a good price on Amazon, so took the punt. I plugged it in and hooked up the SATA power cable and nothing. Experimented with installing driver, still nothing. I then switch PCIe slots and still nothing. I then tried different SATA power cables (using molex to SATA adapter cable to run off a spare molex), still nothing. I then put in another USB3.0 PCIe card I have that has a molex power connector and plugged the molex directly in and it detected it straight away. Tried it in various PCIe slots and using a couple of different molex plugs and worked with all options.

Now, I can't see to work out why this new card is not being detected. I have installed Piriform Speccy and had a look under motherboard and here are my PCI slots on it:

upload_2016-12-10_22-6-14.png