Which is the better melody?

Discussion in 'Electronic' started by demberto, Oct 10, 2019.

?

Which melody is better?

1. 1st (A)

2. 2nd (B)

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. demberto

demberto Rock Star

There are 2 melodies in this. This is my first try in making a proper song. Which melody is better? Why? I think the 2nd one but just asking... Also I do not much (probably, nothing) of music theory so also tell which key are these melodies. FL reports it to be A Minor for 1st and C Major for 2nd but I don't think so. I think both are in same key as root note A is the same in both.

Attached Files:

3. Ak3mi91

Ak3mi91 Platinum Record

In my opinion, the first one is way better. You overcomplicated the second one.

I'm into metal, so I might not be the best person to comment on this, but I think the melody in this kind of music is supposed to be simple and catchy. The first one is.

In other words, if people won't be able to hum the melody, it's a bad melody.

4. lbnv

lbnv Platinum Record

The second one is not good rhythmically, something is wrong with it.
    "Repair" (remake) it a bit and USE THEM BOTH to avoid endless repeating of the same melody.
    The first one is a main theme, the second one is a variation.
    (Why ppl don't learn the music theory... :dunno:)

Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
  5. demberto

demberto Rock Star

@Ak3mi91 I think probably both the melodies are crap. But anyways its due to repeated listening of the same thing.

@lbnv I will fix 2nd one and use it as variation. But for that they need to be in the same key right? Like 1st drop with 1st melody and 2nd drop with 2nd melody. I know I need to learn music theory to be better but I don't have a MIDI keyboard to actually practice the stuff I learnt. I just mostly randomly draw and use the computer keyboard which again cannot be used for most of the chords.

6. Ak3mi91

Ak3mi91 Platinum Record