What's the "wrong note" in any context and how to avoid that?

Discussion in 'Education' started by ICWC, Oct 23, 2018.

1. ICWC

ICWC Guest

A very simple question and waiting for the scientists' answers.:guru::bow:

3. Baxter

Baxter Audiosexual

It's any note outside of the modal key you are in. Until you modulate.

But then again, if you are in free form, there are no wrong notes.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  4. Lou Ulfark

Lou Ulfark Producer

"There are no wrong notes; some are just more right than others." — Thelonious Monk

"If you hit a wrong note, it's the next note that you play that determines if it's good or bad." — Miles Davis

• Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Love it! Love it! x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  5. Willum

Willum Rock Star

I'm a musician not a scientist, i just play what sounds good.

6. Backtired

Backtired Audiosexual

You need to use this bassline: vi IV I V
    Then every note sounds good on top of it ;)

• Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  7. Doesn't matter - if I play fast enough they can't get the cuffs onto me.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  8. m9cao

m9cao Producer

there are no 'wrong note' such thing exist, but only the 'wrong context', do not avoid it and making everything reasonable and useable

9. The ones that make people do this.

[​IMG]

Music is a democracy not a religion.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  10. What do you mean by "wrong note"?