What's the best way to slice samples and sequence them randomly?

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by MrIrresponsibility, Jan 20, 2023.

1. MrIrresponsibility

MrIrresponsibility Newbie

Hello!

I've been interested in a technique used by Aaron Dessner (The National) in a lot of his songs and I need help to achieve it. I'm a beginner so I might be wrong but I believe it's some sample sliced by transient and sequenced randomly.

One example I really like is the beginning of the song "Hoping Then" by Big Red Machine.

I found this article where he mentions software called "Allovers Hi-Hat Generator" but that's custom. The song mentioned in the article using that is "marjorie" by Taylor Swift. (At the beginning like in Hoping Then)

There's a lot of other examples, "happiness" by Taylor Swift also has it in the background near the end but in that case it's used with drum samples.

What be would be the best/fastest way to achieve that?
    Is there any particular plugin I should use?

If it matters, I'm using Reaper as my DAW.

3. mondomorte

mondomorte Producer

Best Answer
    This was very likely done using a granular processor of some kind. There are many free options out there for Mac and PC both. If you are on Mac, I recommend the free, standalone granulator MacPOD. Feed it some source audio and then experiment with the random variable, try reducing the amount of grain streams, play with the grain duration, etc. If you want harder transients, keep the grain window / envelope to a square and not a triangle.

For a paid alternative, there are also many options. I've been enjoying Arturia's EFX Fragments. This one (as opposed to MacPOD, but similar to many others) can sync the grains / slices to the grid; it can cover a lot of rhythmic and melodic range. That should lead you on the right track.

The other option would be to slice the audio yourself and rearrange it. This is obviously more work but it gives you way more control.

• Winner Winner x 1