What's The Best Way to Learn to Play Chords? (Piano)

Discussion in 'Education' started by user1293435134, Aug 24, 2021.

1. user1293435134

user1293435134 Kapellmeister

EDIT: The end goal I have is to be able to improvise chord progressions on the keyboard.

I'm self-taught on the keyboard, evidently. I just finished learning the general scales - major and 3 minors (natural, harmonic and melodic). Not any of the special scales like blues and those ionian modes like Phrygian and Lydian that aren't commonly used... in contemporary/ pop. Now I'd like to learn chords.

I must start with triads I assume and then go on to different voicings and extended chords. But I'm wondering what makes more sense. Should I learn by memorising which chords are in each scale? e.g. C major - C, Dm, Em, F, G, Am, Bdim triads. Should I do a run of all those chords going up the scale and going down? In a similar way to how one would learn scales (running up and down the scale in notes until one has memorised them).

Or

Should I rather learn the triad chords not by scale but instead by whether they're major or minor? E.g. I do a run of all major chords from A to G# forwards and backwards until they're memorised, then do the same for minor chords A to G#, G# back to A?

A
    A# / Bb
    B / Cb
    C / B#
    C# / Db
    D
    D# / Eb
    E / Fb
    F / E#
    F# / Gb
    G
    G# / Ab

Anyone have a better approach?

Last edited: Aug 24, 2021
  3. Tinx

Tinx Noisemaker

There's some great piano tutorials on the sister site that cover music theory, in the mean time this should help you out, best of luck on your musical journey.

upload_2021-8-24_17-54-52.jpeg

• Like x 5
    • Useful x 2
    • Winner x 1
    • Interesting x 1
    • Love it! x 1
    • List

Attached Files:

4. user1293435134