What Scale/Chords are used in these ?

Discussion in 'Film / Video Game Scoring' started by justsomerandomdude, Jun 11, 2022.

1. justsomerandomdude

justsomerandomdude Platinum Record

I watched this movie just when it got released as a DVD during 2008 or 09 just then i noticed the similarity of the emotion it creates over a number of film scores, i cannot describe the feeling exactly but it brings up some kind a nostalgia. Then i forgot about it or thought it would be silly, untill now when i rewatched the movie like 14 yrs later, thought i should ask.
    The Part from 3:36 - 4:27 Espescially from 4:30 to 5:30 Mins (sorry i coudnt find just that scene clip)

And why does it feel so similar to this, skip to 5:18 - 6:00 mins because both are flying

They both have some similarity (atleast to me), these chords have been used in countless movies but at the moment i can only bring this as an example, as Im not a trained musician or have an degre in music theory, i cant figure it out. I mean i could with melodyne and scaler. But it wont be as accurate and wanted to leave it to the experts here..

• Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. Djord Emer

Djord Emer Audiosexual

First video is blocked in my country lol. Second one... nothing really fancy, just playing with secondary harmonic relationships such as secondary dominants, subdominants and other functions as well as the minor subdominant.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. justsomerandomdude

Crap that sucks, the first video is movie called Shortcut to Happiness the one with Alec Baldwin and Jennifer Love. https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0263265/
    U can use Touch vpn for firefox and chrome its free.

5. Sani

Sani Member

• Like Like x 1
    • List
  6. Ad Heesive

Ad Heesive Audiosexual

Total tosh. :rofl:
    The two videos have different chord progressions and neither of them is even remotely close to being (Aug 6, V)