What MIDI keyboard for expressive playing?

Discussion in 'Instruments' started by pixie, Nov 11, 2012.

1. pixie

pixie Newbie

Hello, I'm new in this field so some of my questions might sound silly since every day I learn something new. :) I am a piano player that has some basic knowledge about playing other instruments too. I want to do some composing (pop-rock, jazz, maybe some classical stuff) and I need a MIDI keyboard that would have at least 61 keys (semi-weighted should be OK) and that would allow me expressive playing. Playing the piano is not a problem, sustain pedal is enough but if I switch to VSTi like saxophone I guess I would need something more to make the playing style sound realistic. Since I've never worked with MIDI keyboards I don't know what to look for - do I need one with the expression pedal input? It is also important to mention that I am on a really tight budget. :) I would work at home, except for some occasional live piano playing (that's why I need 61 keys).

3. FellIVTheFake

FellIVTheFake Noisemaker

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Keystation88es?utm_source=none&utm_medium=PPC&utm_campaign=none&gclid=CJaGuNaix7MCFRRbnAodR3cAHg
    i bought this one about 5 months ago i love it, check it out, you could most likely find it on ebay or craigslist cheaper

4. pixie

pixie Newbie

Thanks! Another question. If I took this or similar keyboard, would I also be able to play accompaniment in real-time using the keyboard & an average PC laptop with the VST library? I was considering stage piano keyboards like M-Audio Sono ProKeys because I could use the piano built-in feature but if it can be done with just a MIDI controller and a laptop it makes things much easier.

5. rBennich

rBennich Kapellmeister