What matters as a sound designer ?

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by Boosire, Dec 16, 2020.

1. Boosire

Boosire Producer

Hi,

I am an aspiring sound designer, not aiming for film business but as a freelancer, in the future, mostly for motion and animation.

I've been composing and mixing my own music for a good decade, i have soft of soft mastering skills but don't consider myself any more efficient than that, i know what compressors and eqs do and my ear knows what sounds bad or good using them but that's about it.

I'm pretty good at matching sound to picture, i do it as a hobby, it's been going on for years, i've entered a few small competitions and was told that i was pretty natural at it.

The thing is i know there is a whole world out there filled with professionals and clever techniques that will pose a strong competition, i just don't know where to dip in and what i should learn now to make myself reach the level of polish i see on Behance for example.

I have the complete Boom Library and use Soundly for what i don't find so the initial sound quality is pretty neat, what i lack i think is a more technical approach, i work by instinct to figure out what the world sounds like in the picture, i apply various concepts that i've picked up with music like space in the mix and using most types of plugins and effects, but i feel like i should be knowing more ?

I don't know, i need some perspective. What do you think is essential, what set of tools should a Sound Designer have in his skillbox for most situations ?

3. Smoove Grooves

Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

I see you have outlined your version of this phrase, but I still feel you may want to define this phrase better.
    I relate to your usage of the phrase in relation to film, because it's a word I've heard within that medium since the 80s.
    I imagine you may get a few different points of view due to this.
    You also sound like dubbing mixer or editor. And foley.

4. Illadelph