What defines the vocal key inside a song?

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by PAULOPAUZUDO, Mar 8, 2016.

1. PAULOPAUZUDO

PAULOPAUZUDO Noisemaker

Since I'm not a real musician who knows and understand musical notation and things like that, I'm not ashamed to ask something that is in my mind for so long. What defines the vocal key inside a song? I mean, for my ears I don't really think that some rappers (just for example) sing in the right key.
    Let me take for example Lil Wayne or 2 Chainz. The whole track behind their voices sounds good, but I don't think their voices are really in tune.
    So, for my untrained ears, are they really singing in tune, and if they are, what defines that? Or what are they following inside the songs to know they are in tune?

Thanks.

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. coolbeanz

coolbeanz Platinum Record

rap (rhythm and poetry) doesn't really involve the artist being in a certain key, since it's percussive speech (if they're really rapping).

i also rap/rhyme, and never did i have to tune myself to a track, or the track tuned to me. i've rapped to all different kinds of beats, made in different keys/root notes/whatever/etc. those rules don't really apply.

with rap, it's about the performance of the vocal & how clear you get your message across...and being on count. timing is more important than just abt anything else in regards to the art of emceeing. delivery should be a tight 2nd. some might say different, but they may also have a different interpretation/understanding of what rap music/hip-hop culture really is.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. Funk U

Funk U Platinum Record

The music that is being played around it, (within it's own context), is what defines the key. If there is no music, i.e. a capella, then harmonic analysis of their singing melody would yield the key of the song.