Weird noise coming out of my Yamaha HS8's?

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by barah sherlock, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. barah sherlock

    barah sherlock Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey world

    I'm currently using a pair of Yamaha HS8 monitors connected to a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. (balanced cables)
    But I'm getting a weird noise almost like a white noise but not as sharp, from my tweeter. Along with a sub noise coming from the sub part of the monitors. The noises aren't too loud, but they are definitely hearable, and after a while it get a bit annoying.

    I was wondering if anyone knows a solution to this kind of problem?
    Thanks!
     
  2.  
  3. Death Thash Doom

    Death Thash Doom Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Gone Postal
    First off you need to narrow it down. IE does it happen when the cables you are using are not plugged into the monitors but the monitors are still turned on? Does it still occur with something else hooked up as a source signal to the monitors other than your interface? Does it still happen with different cables used to hook up the interface to the monitors (The area I personally would begin at and usually the most common)? Once you've narrowed down/trouble shot the offending bit of gear then it should be easier to resolve. Hope that helps for now :)
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. dbmuzik

    dbmuzik Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Based on what you mentioned.. and especially if you hear fluctuating artifacts in the white noise you described.. 99 percent of the time the problem is a ground loop. And the cause of that problem in most cases is the computer power supply. Even the best power supply on the market can pair poorly with certain monitors. Just a compatibility issue sometimes. Use a ground lift plug adapter to turn the three prong plug for one of your monitors into a two prong. If the signal is clean when you do that then you have a ground loop. You can use ground lift plug adapters as a permanent fix for the problem. But if you're in the habit of turning your monitors on and off a lot, or plugging and unplugging a lot at the back of your computer you could catch an electric shock that would have you on cloud 9 for a few hours or potentially kill you. Use the ground lift plug adapter to test for a ground loop to say the least. And if you don't want to run with it as a permanent solution you'd want to look into buying another power supply, or shop for a decent power conditioner from Furman.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. barah sherlock

    barah sherlock Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    The sound still continued, when I disconnected the cable from my soundcard to my monitor. But the sound was much softer, however still preset. I'll try ground lifting and let you guys know :)
     
  6. Mayson656

    Mayson656 Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    I had this problem with my HS80's, I found that by plugging the speakers into separte wall socket from my mac solved the problem, I used 2 4-way extension sockets so they could reach, problem solved
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. barah sherlock

    barah sherlock Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Interesting! Will give that a try too :)
     
  8. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    894
    What's the sensitivity level knob on the rear of your monitors set at? +4dB? If it's set at maximum [-10dB], try setting it lower, to +4dB, which is a mid setting.

    Like this:
    [​IMG]
    Level setting also depends on how loud you like to listen to the music. Boosting it to maximum can make most of the nearfields sound quite a bit more noisy, especially when it's quiet in the room.

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2015
  9. barah sherlock

    barah sherlock Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey my monitors sensitivity is on 4db like the image you have provided. I've changed the room control to -2db but that doesn't seem to be the main reason for the noise..
     
  10. NicoDPS

    NicoDPS Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    100
    I've had some strange noise coming from one of my monitors, it was caused by the wi-fi, now that I've moved the wi-fi antenna the annoying noise have disappeared...
     
  11. Bandit

    Bandit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15
    When you disconnect your speaker from the soundcard and you still have the noise, try a different power outlet. Also unplug USB devices that are on that power outlet. I have a different 'power group' for my speakers in my studio just because of these type of problems. Also use good cables. dbmuzik also has good arguments.
     
  12. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    894
    If you have them set on +4dB already then level setting is not the problem as they would make more noise at -10dB setting [maximum]. So it's probably the cables as the others suggested. To find out which ones are the culprit you can move them while listening to monitors. ;) Often times you can find the offending one more easily that way.

    Cheers!
     
  13. HackMe

    HackMe Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Milan
    Hi, I've the same issues
    I tried to plug all the monitor(and sub) in a different power outlet but nothing...i keep heard noises (mouse tick,CPU etc etc)
    I tried everything...last chance is to use a DI BOX but am I sure to FIX the problem? I dont want to waste money.
    Thanks
     
  14. Death Thash Doom

    Death Thash Doom Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Gone Postal
    Personally along with the person I work with and who is my closest friend we use rack mounted mains power distributors with power conditioning (There are many to choose from, As long as you grab one that features a good say 10-amp circuit breaker, Surge/Spike protection, Peak voltage clamping plus RFI and EMI filtering, You should be good to go). I have two at the moment and could use another one, Anything that is on an IEC (kettle lead) gets powered that way, I haven't had many problems with nasty interference that I haven't been able to quickly isolate and eliminate. ART and Ebtech do really decent quick fixes for one off problems and if you do not have racks of stuff that need powering. These are what you might want to look into http://artproaudio.com/isolators/ http://www.ebtechaudio.com/hedes.html http://www.ebtechaudio.com/humxdes.html
    Hope that is of some help/use and all the best to all as always
     
  15. resetplz

    resetplz Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I landed on this page after searching google. Just today a slightly artifacted noise started coming out of one of my HS80-M's woofer cones; a very gently descending white noise with digital artifacts--barely noticeable but there.

    When I adjusted the rear sensitivity knob, the noise modulated like FM...sweeping up and down as I turned the knob. Is this interference? I haven't changed anything in my setup and have been noise-free for years, so I'd think sudden interference wouldn't be the culprit.

    Any ideas?
     
  16. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    614
    Sometimes my cell phone will make noise in a monitor if I put it too close. But I recognized it immediately as GSM noise.
     
  17. resetplz

    resetplz Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm, I can test that the next time I hear it. Thanks.
     
  18. Moogerfooger

    Moogerfooger Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    219
    They need some milk.
     
  19. fiction

    fiction Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    200
    If you disconnect the audio inputs and you still hear noise, it's most likely an issue with the monitor(s).
    Simple as that.
    I cannot remember a single case where bad power grounding or filtering was the cause for noise. Hum, radio reception, weird sounds yes, but not noise.
     
  20. beatmagnus

    beatmagnus Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    67
    I had a similar problem at a previous apartment. I was on an upper floor and a power line was outside my apt window. I realized it was either that or radio tower interference because as soon as I moved the issue dissapeared while using the same equipment.
     
  21. TW

    TW Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    144
    If its not the cable ...
    I had a noise problem once with a PC (mouse sounds while moving, mobile phone like clicks but really really quiet etc) Turned out the pc made this noises and put them through my usb connection. I used my Furman power conditioner which I have for playing live and all was quiet. Most of the the noise problems are caused by a bad powersource. Either on your monitors or on your PC/Notebook. Try another room or even place with your equipment

    Peolpe often underestimate good clean power. There are places were it is impossible to get "noise free" power without a conditioner/cleaner. All big studios have colour coded sockets. 1 colour for your mobile phone - the other colour (cleaned) for music related things.

    If everything mentioned fails to get rid of the noise
    You should rent a power conditioner or buy one (send it back if it dosent work) and see if it helps.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Weird noise coming Forum Date
Weird noise in Utility plugin in Live Live Jan 24, 2015
Something weird about the newer iphones?!? Mixing and Mastering Nov 9, 2017
Non-harmonic dark bands: weird filtering or watermarks? Working with Sound Sep 16, 2017
Music-Society realllllyyy weird but reallllly cool, anyone else familiar? Presets, Patches Jul 9, 2017
Weird problem with vsties in Reaper 5.40 Reaper Jun 14, 2017
Loading...