Weird effect after adding Sable with nicnt

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by sampler, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. sampler

    sampler Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,
    I'm very glad to have found this place. I hope you don't mind if I start my membership with a question to experienced Kontakt users...
    I recently added Spitfire Sable Vol.1-3 with nicnt-files (and wallpapers) on a MAC-based Kontakt 3.0 system.

    The effect was very strange for each of the 3 volumes:

    1. Firstly, Kontakt was busy for about 2 minutes after clicking the "Add Library" button (spinning circle)
    2. Then the library appeared in library tab as usual (so, I guess, the numbers in the nicnt file did not step on anything else already installed)
    3. Opening the files list ("Browse") for each Sable within the library tab was extreeeemely slow, taking several seconds to display the list of library content
    4. Loading patches from within the library tab worked as normal, and using the library works as normal - with one exception:
    5. When playing legato and looking at the graphical keyboard within Kontakt, keys are hung (i.e. you can see them being pressed, but they stay down)

    I removed Sable 1-3 from the library tab and now load the patches using the "Files" menu. But problem 5. persists.

    Does any of this sound familiar? I've looked around but found no reports on this. Any solutions maybe?
    Thanks very much for any comments!!
     
  2.  
  3. Introninja

    Introninja Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    880
    Location:
    Location Location
    i'm i reading this right??? Kontakt 3 :wow:

    From spitfire website
    :excl: REQUIRES A FULL VERSION OF KONTAKT 4.2.4 OR KONTAKT 5 TO RUN.

    Also remember Sables is a huge library it's best you have the whole library on a SSD, or split on multiple harddrives :wink:
     
  4. Introninja

    Introninja Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    880
    Location:
    Location Location
    Spitfire Sable Strings Vol 1
    -Instruments alt mics 1.1
    -Instruments main mics 1.1
    -Instruments mix mics 1.1
    -Instruments surround mix mics 1.1
    Size: 81.6 GB

    Spitfire BML Sable Vol 2
    -Instruments main mics
    Size: 20.6 GB

    Spitfire BML Sable Vol. 3a
    -Instruments main mics
    Size: 15.3GB

    If you use at least three big intruments going in kontakt let the click & pops start, then to stop that got to turn up your asio buffer

    It's not how fast the harddrive is 'per say', it's more incline to if it can sustain the data rate

    P.S I hate purge :wink:
     
  5. Mykal

    Mykal AudioP2P

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    I'm Right Behind You
    Nice name change Ninja
     
  6. troslek

    troslek Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "GUI keyboard stuck" problem has been there since forever. I doubt it has anything to do with Sable.
     
  7. Introninja

    Introninja Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    880
    Location:
    Location Location
    Thanks, i deal with kontakt responses so much (the amount of PMs i get also) I thought the name change will reflect that :wink:

    I'm thinking of going into KSP and learn about scripting :excl: :bleh:
     
  8. sampler

    sampler Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh poop.
    Of course I meant Kontakt 5.3, not "Kontakt 3". I'm really sorry about that typo!!

    I've never seen the stuck keyboard thing ever before. But if it is a known problem not
    specific to Sable (and in particular not specific to adding Sable with an nicnt-file),
    then I'll just ignore it.

    Generally, I'd be interested to know if any issues (other than errors caused by re-using the
    same SNPID etc. in a nicnt file) have ever been encountered by adding libraries to the library
    tab that originally weren't meant to go there.

    Thank you for your replies!!!!
     
  9. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4,641
    Likes Received:
    3,364
    Yes, I have the same GUI keyboard stuck too since some update, may be 5.2 or something. But this does not influence sound, it's just a graphical bug.
    This bug get more present with some libraries than other. Maybe a scripting related problem.
    Win7 Ultimate x64.

    Kontakt Ninja Guru,

    Please do it *yes*
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Weird effect adding Forum Date
professional headphones not playing kick..also weird sound Soundgear Jul 18, 2022
Weird Flute Synth how to make "that" sound Jul 18, 2022
Weird Plugin Disables PC Jun 3, 2022
Weird Komplete Kontrol issue Kontakt May 27, 2022
Weird font on Korg M1 vst Samplers, Synthesizers May 10, 2022
Loading...