WASAPI on AudioUTOPiA's Pro Tools 12.5

Discussion in 'Pro Tools' started by Hoppe, Nov 17, 2018.

  1. Hoppe

    Hoppe Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    45
    Is there any way to use WASAPI with the AudioUTOPiA's Pro Tools 12.5? This is the only thing that keeps me away from Pro Tools, it's really annoying to be unable to play other sounds on my Windows when I have Pro Tools open.
     
  2.  
  3. Who Me

    Who Me Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    70
    Never tried Wasapi, bt with all ASIO based devices I've used on PT I've never had any issues playing music on other programs while PT is open.
     
  4. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    406
    Who Me has it right.

    WASAPI works in exclusive mode with Pro Tools (just). Better off with ASIO driver for internal sound device. For an external device, use the dedicated driver that came with it, if any. Otherwise, ASIO.

    My preferred ASIO driver is Magix ASIO which can be found on sister site. Will update link if needed.
     
  5. CDLF

    CDLF Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    33
    It's usually a matter of configuration of your ASIO driver.

    e.g. Charlie Steinberg's multiclient ASIO driver has a special checkbox for this
     
  6. Hoppe

    Hoppe Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    45
    I use ASIO4ALL and it won't let me play any sound despite Pro Tools
     
  7. Who Me

    Who Me Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    70
    What device are you using?
    Doesn't it have it's own ASIO driver rather than using a 3rd party one?
     
  8. Hoppe

    Hoppe Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    45
    I don't have any lol

    My current economic situation doesn't allow me to buy even the less expensive interfaces RN, and these are so f***ing expensive in my country, so I just plug my mic and guitar directly into my motherboard

    The only way for me to use PT is via ASIO4ALL, which doesn't allow to me use any audio outside PT. If I could use WASAPI I'd definitely go back to PT, but I can't without, it's so annoying to be unable to use like, YouTube or something, while in PT
     
  9. CDLF

    CDLF Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    33
    Doesn't ASIO4ALL also have such an option for exclusive or non exclusive device access?
    Maybe you could try the Steinberg ASIO driver (open its settings to set it to playback non-exclusively). Link: ftp://ftp.steinberg.net/Download/Hardware/ASIO_multiclient_driver/

    Finally, don't blame PT for ASIO4ALL being bad :P
     
  10. boomoperator

    boomoperator Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    167
    This behaviour is caused by Pro Tools HD itself, using another driver won't change it.
    Standard (Vanilla) Pro Tools is less picky. Only with a second interface you can play other sources when PT HD is running.
     
Loading...
Loading...