Walk of life synth Synth Sound?

Discussion in 'Samplers, Synthesizers' started by Victor, Dec 25, 2014.

1. Victor

Victor Noisemaker

Hi guys. I was struggling and can't find out how to make that synth sound on Dire Straits - Walk of life at the beginning, after the organ chords. I downloaded several vst synths...couldn't find that tone on presets. Tried to edit some of them, but I am new to synth editing. Maybe someone was able to find that tone and has some clues.

3. rhythmatist

rhythmatist Audiosexual

Hammond B3 organ, or an imitation thereof. Very few bars pulled. They have it in left and right channel, slightly delayed on the right. Leslie cabinet on slow rotation except during the verse. Sounds like the Leslie speeds up then. Here they are playing it in 1985. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=087Bv3p4KLQ ---Live, they have two keyboard players. One has a real Hammond with some other keys, and the other guy has stuff I don't recognize. He's playing an organ imitation on a couple synths. Haha has a few cartridges loaded. In '85, there were a fewer choices for multi voice synths based on samples. I like to perform "Water of Love", from their 1st album, during one of the gigs I do.

4. Victor

Victor Noisemaker

I'm not talking about the chords that are on organ, but about the intro melody/riff (g#,g#. f# g# b, g# f# e e) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeXtTVN4X-Y here he plays with only one keyboard.
    I saw a video where one dude made it very close to that sound with Roland AX synth, so it's possible.

5. SillySausage

SillySausage Producer

the riff/melody at 25 sec (album version) sounds like a type of trumpet synth sound

6. rhythmatist

rhythmatist Audiosexual