Vocal editing by hand? (Offline editing)

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by JamesWorthy, Mar 2, 2017.

1. JamesWorthy

JamesWorthy Newbie

Hi,

Recently I sent a song off for mastering, the engineer came back with a couple of requests which I understood just fine and have complied with however he sent one which threw me as I had no idea what he was talking about and have no idea how to carry it out. I will copy and paste the message below:

'vocal is too loud, and it also needs some offline edits, as there are some bumps around 70-80Hz'

When I then asked for clarification he sent back:

'offline edits - editing vocal in this case and removing those 70-80Hz big peaks

with pencil rather then any other processor (removing issues by hand)'

I am relatively new to the mixing process so I'm willing to come across as an idiot by asking this. If anyone has any ideas as to what this means and how I can carry it out I'd be very happy. I'm using Logic Pro X.

Thanks a lot!

3. Parasite-B

Parasite-B Platinum Record

The only way I could take that is that he's asking you to record the parts again, just a bit quieter. Sorry I'm not much help here, but that's the only way I could take that.

4. JamesWorthy

JamesWorthy Newbie

Thanks, I hope not though

5. mild pump milk

mild pump milk Russian Milk Drunkard

Maybe sonogram editing, like in izotope rx.
    Choose places where the bumps are, selected them with free editing tool at 70-80 Hz and gain them down, several dBs.

6. iluvhiphop

iluvhiphop Guest

I think he wants you to just manually remove the peaks, rather than simply putting on a limiter or equalizer on the track so it affects the whole thing. Find the peaks, cut them and turn them down maybe?

7. korte1975

korte1975 Guest

hi James. vocal may be too loud, but he should be able to notch those resonant frequencies out. share the file here i see what i can do.

8. Death Thash Doom

Death Thash Doom Platinum Record