Virtual USB Drive or Virtual Ethernet Card (Windows10)

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by ArticStorm, Jan 8, 2022.

  1. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,602
    Likes Received:
    2,361
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    Any ideas how to "install"/create a virtual USB Drive (VHD method for windows 10 does not work, it is not recognized an USB drive) or a virtual NIC/ethernet Card?

    I wanted to install Waves 9. But this required me a physical usb pendrive or a physical Ethernet card. I have both, but not enough USB ports here.

    (Besides why was WAVES so stupid and bound it to any two of those?)
     
  2.  
  3. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,284
    Likes Received:
    3,257
    No guarantee: You can use a ramdisk: http://memory.dataram.com/products-and-services/software/ramdisk
     
  4. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    2,788
    Location:
    Where the sun doesn't shine.
    You can create and register it to a Microsoft Loopback NIC card. That's a nice tip I've heard somewhere. I think in this forum, actually. :)

    You have to install it as new hardware manually through Device Manager. Go to "Install new hardware", look for "Microsoft Looback Network Card" and install it. That's a great solution for those who don't want to be connected to the internet but need a network card to register some plugins like Waves or Korg.

    A RAM disk can be handy, too, and it registers as a hard drive, indeed. I use a RAM disk to keep Firefox temp files on it in Linux. I don't use it in Windows, although I would if I had 32GB RAM or more. I have just 16GB, but that's more than enough for my needs.

    Cheers! :wink:
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  5. LoveToGig

    LoveToGig Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    28
  6. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,602
    Likes Received:
    2,361
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    I found a version 10 release of WAVES, which just doesnt require the old stupid WAVES authorization, althought it comes with a down that it always opens in a much fuglier modern GUI for all the plugins. I have to find out if i can set the old GUI by default.
    Otherwise this has basically solved the question from above, as i no longer need any of these two virtual device on windows 10.

    But thanks for helping me!
     
  7. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,662
    Likes Received:
    2,788
    Location:
    Where the sun doesn't shine.
    That's some really interesting info. The NIC problem is bothering me, too [not on my computers though, all my 3 computers are connected using Reaper and I don't use Waves lol], so I'm going to try Waves 10 and see how it plays out. Thank you! :wink:
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2022
  8. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,602
    Likes Received:
    2,361
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    @SineWave Thats the oldest version i found, which doesnt require the stupid authorization and which is 64bits for windows.

    (its also quite small compared to the recent version)

    Waves.Complete.v2018.07.23.Incl.Emulator-R2R

    I loads quite fast on potato notebook.
     
Loading...
Loading...