Video comping/takes feature (like in DAWs)

Discussion in 'Working with Video' started by muperang, Jun 23, 2023.

1. muperang

muperang Newbie

Greetings. I am completely new to video editing but I have background in music production. In DAWs like Ableton, BItwig or Logic we have a feature that is usually called "comping" or "takes". It gives us an ability to choose the best parts of vocal or guitar takes and combine them into one "master take" very fast. Basically we can just select different phrases from different tracks and get a flawlessly performed chorus or guitar solo without manual chopping or rearranging individual tracks.

Is there anything like this in video editing software? Like if I shoot a music video 5 times in the same location and then want to combine the best parts of each take into one final video. I plan to use DaVinci Resolve but will gladly consider other options if those programs have that feature

3. boomoperator

boomoperator Rock Star

In Resolve, there's the Take Selector function, which is made for that scenario. You could also do a Multicam edit, where instead of multiple camera's, you use multiple takes. That'll get you to see multiple takes in one view.

• Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. muperang

muperang Newbie

Wow, that's great. Although I see that we still have to chop clips using the blade tool (versus just selecting specific areas of each take in DAWs). Basically DAWs allow us to adaptively slice the parts inside the take selector and "raise" the needed part up to master take + they adjust cutting points automatically. Whereas here we have to slice the master clip beforehand and then select takes/angles in each of that parts.

Anyway, I will definitely dig deeper and try both of them to see which one works best. So far I'm having more success with the Multicam mode. I wish I knew about automatic alignment by waveform when I was shooting. I would've clapped at the beginning of each take :)