Use OpenSSH plugs without modifying system

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by John Trumble, May 31, 2015.

  1. John Trumble

    John Trumble Newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    For anyone interested, it seems like it's possible to get the plugs that use openssh's dylib mod to work without touching your system files or messing up other apps.

    Just embed openssh's modded libstdc dtlib in with the plugin binary, and then modify the binary to use that dylib, not the system one.

    For it work successfully, you'll need to do this for both the plugin AND your host. Works perfectly with OS 10.8.2, EnergyXT, Ableton 9 and the Evantide plugs, haven't tried others yet.

    Basically, 'install_name_tool' does the magic, so just look that up or try the following:

    1. 'Show package contents' for plug, copy dylib for your OS in with binary (Contents/MacOS)
    2. Install XCode + Command Line tools
    3. In terminal, type 'otool -L ' + plug path, observe the dependencies, one of them should be something like '/usr/lib/libstdc++....'
    4. Look up how to use'install_name_tool -change' (redirect plug to use the dylib you dropped in with binary instead of one in /usr/lib/)

    Essentially, should be something like: 'install_name_tool -change old-dylib-location new-dylib-location file-path'

    5. Do the same for your host app or else you'll still get an auth error.

    Hope this helps some folks get more out of openssh's brilliant work :)


    Respect to OpenSSH & copylefter
     
    • Useful Useful x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • List
  2.  
  3. Catalyst

    Catalyst Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,876
    Likes Received:
    643
    I'm a Windows guy but I've been thinking the same thing. Didn't know why it wasn't done originally to work this way as I'm sure they would know about it. A couple of guys were hinting at this also. Thanks a lot. :bow:
     
  4. jayxflash

    jayxflash Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    463
    For me, on Yosemite, didn't worked even if your solution totally makes sense.
     
  5. copylefter

    copylefter Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    text_section
    No need for XCode, just patch the Mach-O header with a simple hexeditor to point to the new dylib path (/usr/lib/openssh_c++.dylib i.e.) :wink:
    Dunno why he didn't do this way from start, well, this thing shouldn't be leaked to audioz that early, like always. :snuffy:

    PS: You know that 99% of people is not savvy enough to even do something as simple as show hidden files in Finder uh. This thread will become a total mess I fear.
    I think is better if people wait a bit for a ready made solution. Maybe next week I will make a special patcher that works on all plugs,
    no need to reinstall them, just run the patcher, put back the original libstdc++.6.0.9.dylib, and move the new one (actually the same openssh original one, renamed)
    to the path pointed to by the plugs. People, don't count on it anyway, I will MAYBE do IF and WHEN I have time. Don't ask for it.
    And, PLEASE PEOPLE, don't try this at home if you know nothing of OSX. If you are about to ask how to "Show Package Contents" in Finder,
    please stop, take a deep breath, and hit the X button on this tab in your web browser. You just can't do this if your skill level is that,
    so save you (and us) the headache.

    Nice of you to offer this solution anyway, this is actually how I installed the few plugs I kept that use openssh method,
    as soon as I found out that it was just hijacking some call, I thought of this and did it, all worked of course, easy peasy solution *yes*
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • List
  6. ordjen

    ordjen Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    http://osxdaily.com/2014/02/12/install-command-line-tools-mac-os-x/

    hope this work :)

    how to install command line tool without xcode
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  7. deftmonk

    deftmonk Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    or maybe they're like me... know how to find that location but pos finder craps out and won't reopen 99% of the time for me. Knowing apple, it probably has to do with something entirely irrelevant to finder and ill never figure it out.
     
  8. ordjen

    ordjen Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    paths with spaces?

    Drag-and-drop the file or directory onto the terminal; this will preserve the spaces.

    or..

    Quote the space character with a backslash, like this:

    /Users/username/temp/directory\ with\ spaces


    http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20010305211647646

    this will help

    :mates:
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  9. uber909

    uber909 Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Neo Bangkok
    I'm sure Hexwars is cooking something, I can smell it. :rofl:

    There's no way I'm gonna mess up my system for the greed of new plugs.
    It's not like we are desperate for audio stuff!

    Wait... and see.
     
  10. returnal

    returnal Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    277
    This is wonderful news and I'll await any further developments patiently. I downloaded two (three?) of those openssh plugin packs but delayed installing them because I wasn't 100% comfortable with the method of system dylib mod, and thought I'd wait and see if other more "ambitious" adopters encountered any system problems as a result.

    While I'm certainly not the guy who can't find hidden files (I've had that disabled for about a decade), and I can enter a terminal command or two, I must admit that Mr. Trumble's instructions are still just a step or two above my pay grade. So this guy (me) would be extremely grateful to whomever might find the time to tackle this for the schlubs like me . . . and those even schlubbier I guess too. :P
     
  11. Kwissbeats

    Kwissbeats Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    360
    man you gotta love this community, does this hypothetically mean that this lib can be used even if apple updates the respective lib with an os update?
     
  12. ordjen

    ordjen Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    6
    How to copy (and relink) binaries on OSX using otool and install_name_tool??

    This will help

    http://thecourtsofchaos.com/2013/09/16/how-to-copy-and-relink-binaries-on-osx/

    :wink:
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  13. Grandy

    Grandy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    i've tried to patch plugin AND logic pro X with hex editor, after i patch LPX there is no way to run it, checked permissions but couldnt find whats the problem. this is what i did: show package contents -> contents -> mac os -> opened file inside with hex editor, found a part where it points to /usr/lib/libstdc++.6.dylib and rename it to point to /usr/lib/openssh.dylib and cant start logic.
     
  14. jayxflash

    jayxflash Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    463
    @Grandy same here :)
     
  15. fiction

    fiction Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    193
    Stupid question: Wouldn't patching with a string of different length either ruin offsets in the binary (if inserting) or overwrite important data (if replacing) ?!?
    The simplest test would be to replace with a string of same length and renaming the dylib to a different name with equal length.
    If the binary does its own checksum, you'd have to consider that as well.
     
  16. Manta

    Manta Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    15
    Go to the openssh dylib file for your system, change in a hex editor (I used Hex Fiend) the name libstdc++.6.0.9.dylib to libstcd++.6.0.9.dylib and save this file to your usr/lib/ folder

    Make a new folder (ex. ‚tmp’ in your users home folder), copy here the binary file you have to patch from a .vst or .au
    example with Clariphonic x64.vst : open Terminal and type: install_name_tool -change "/usr/lib/libstdc++.6.0.9.dylib" "/usr/lib/libstcd++.6.0.9.dylib" /Users/home/tmp/Clariphonic\ x64
    Check witch otool -L if the path is changed, you should find /usr/lib/libstcd++.6.0.9.dylib
    Replace the file in your .vst .au (contents/MacOS/..)
    You can delete your tmp folder.

    Hope this helps.




    Big cheers for OpenSSH and Copylefter
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  17. Grandy

    Grandy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    It's not stupid, this is the first time i use hex editor in my life. I dont want others to do it for me and to waste their time, thats why i asked for a solution. I always try first to do something by myself then ask others to do it for me.
     
  18. Grandy

    Grandy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    HEY MAN, thanks a million :) i got it working with your instructions. I'm gonna patch almost all AU plugins with this method, if Catalyst wants i can upload patched libstcd and patched binaries so that he can post it to audioz. I would be glad if i can bring something to the community :)
     
  19. GeminiCount

    GeminiCount Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll be the first to put a request in Grandy. It would be really appreciated.
     
  20. Zeus

    Zeus Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Brandy+Wine
    No requests here. PM the guy.
     
  21. spaddu

    spaddu Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've been tampering with this unsuccessfully.

    FYI: when doing the "install_name_tool" command the path to the plugin is actually the path to the unix file with the plugin's /contents/MacOS. I've managed to replace the libstdc++ to libstcd++

    However things go awry when I do the same with Pro Tools 10.10.3 (openssh's version). Pro Tools won't start and I had reinstall it.

    Interestingly enough the plugin's aren't pointing explicitly to the "libstdc++.6.0.9.dylib" but to a an alias called "libstdc++.6.dylib" (after I figured that one out I managed to do the change). This is in osx 10.9.5.

    Has anybody any constructive ideas where to look for the answer (when PT started crashing the log mentioned something about KWAN.framework "image missing etc.")? The reason why I'd like to patch the plugs separately is because occasionally the cracked plugins will simple cease to work and I need to re-replace the dylib file in order to get working again (seems to have something to do with permission reset). The other solution would be if somebody pointed me into the right direction in how to prevent permission repair to repair certain files.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - OpenSSH plugs without Forum Date
Problem Propellerhead Reason 5 after instal libstcd++ (openssh plugs) Mac / Hackintosh May 27, 2015
Altiverb HOOK (not openssh) at the same time ilok legit Mac / Hackintosh Sep 7, 2017
HELP! Installing [openssh][dada] plug-ins on Sierra 10.12.3 Mac / Hackintosh Feb 4, 2017
Finally Installed Openssh PT HD 10...but it get stuck. Software Jan 14, 2017
Struggle with Softube openssh RTAS OSX Mac / Hackintosh Jan 8, 2017
Loading...