UAD Thunderbolt Apollo is not being detected by PC

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by SDFMusic, Dec 26, 2022.

  1. SDFMusic

    SDFMusic Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Venice, Florida
    Hi everyone
    First post here. I just purchased an Apollo 8xp Thunderbolt interface. I am a Windows 10 (updated) user, and my PC has a motherboard with native Thunderbolt4. My problem is that the Apollo is not being detected by the Meter Software. I receive a message telling me that no UAD device is connected. I have contacted UAD and their response has been to update my computer, update thunderbolt driver, update BIOS. Eventually you are my last resource. Any help, suggestion is welcome. Thanks, and happy holidays.

     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2022
  2.  
  3. notrace

    notrace Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    77
    Have you verified you're using a good know Thunderbolt 3 cable?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. SDFMusic

    SDFMusic Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Venice, Florida
    Thanks. I tried 4 different cables from different manufacturers.
     
  5. danfuerth

    danfuerth Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    71
    First thing is to make sure that interface gets power follow these steps

    1. Unplug everything and check the USBC ( thunderbolt) port iself on that Computer, physically look inside
    the port in case something is jammed in there ( stopping conductivity)
    If nothing is stuck in there or broken...

    2. Since Thunderbolt is basically USBC, charge any device that is USBC you have using that USBC port
    this is to see if the port itself is the problem

    3. If the device charges and can be connected to that WIndows 10 PC then you can isolate that interface as the problem.

    4. Now look at the cable that you are using on that interface and look at ends of them is there anything stuck inside that is loose metal? Are the ports on the Thunderbolt interface clean? no lint or dirt?

    Use a toothpick to clean the ports ( it's thin enough to remove crap from there).

    Report back after first checking these things out.

    Please take not of this warning
    "Although the port is physically similar, USB-C (USB 3.1/3.2) does NOT support Thunderbolt without a specific Thunderbolt controller (chip) and Thunderbolt firmware built-in to the motherboard and/or add-in card. Also, a Thunderbolt add-in card is usually designed to be run in a Thunderbolt-compatible PC (or motherboard), and generally speaking may not work in a PC without Thunderbolt support. Perhaps the device shows up because USB3 is part of the Thunderbolt spec?

    Try searching for your PC or motherboard to verify whether it has Thunderbolt 3 or not.."
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2022
  6. SDFMusic

    SDFMusic Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Venice, Florida
    Done but no fix. This is a brand new interface. Brand new cables. This issue with UAD is ridiculous.
     
  7. notrace

    notrace Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    77
    Your motherboard is supporting what version of Thunderbolt? Indeed, make sure you're running the latest Thunderbolt driver from the motherboard's manufacture and note how to enable it via the motherboards manufacturers instructions! Cables also have to support the TB version of the interface.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2022
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. notrace

    notrace Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    77
    Unfortunately, brand new doesn't always guarantee something can't be defective.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  9. notrace

    notrace Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    77
    Apollo 8 & Apollo 8p Thunderbolt Connection Info
    Connecting Apollo to the computer via Thunderbolt

    • On Windows 10 systems:

      - The host computer must have an available Thunderbolt 3 port.
      - A qualified Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt adapter is required. For details, see this article.
      - UAD devices with Thunderbolt 1 or Thunderbolt 2 connections may be mixed and/or matched.
    • Apollo cannot be bus powered via Thunderbolt. The included external power supply must be used.
    • See the Apollo 8 & Apollo 8p Multi-Unit Cascading article for specific instructions on how to connect and use two or more Apollo units together.
    • Universal Audio Thunderbolt devices are tested with authentic Apple Thunderbolt Cables and Thunderbolt Optical Cables by Corning. Using off-brand cables may cause unpredictable results.
     
  10. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    2,596
    I had precisely this occur with a UAD Twin X 40gbs unit. Wouldn't even power up. They were just like "yeah, return it" when I finally got someone on the phone. No testing, no troubleshooting, nothing. That said to me the amount of confidence they have in their product. Zero. (but they did also act like it's not really their own in-house manufacturing for the smaller units anyway)

    However, the problem you are having is possibly caused by a failed Software install. They have a specific program for Macs should your Luna/Software installation fail. It cleans up everything. If you do not run it, it will loop forever and not detect the unit. Their stuff for Windows is probably very similar as well. The first failed install did in fact install some things, and now they have to be gone or it will loop the install and won't detect the HW.

    You have to install it in a very specific sequence, like a Rain Dance. But since it is UAD, it will rain Tears. :suicide:
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2022
  11. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    4,407
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    Best Answer
    @SDFMusic Welcome to the forum. I think I have the solution for you.
    The problem is not with your computer. It is a software issue with your UAD. To be more specific, your UAD needs a firmware update that can only be installed using a Mac. Without the firmware the UAD is not recognized by the Meter software in PC's. Therefore, find a Mac, connect your UAD and update the firmware. Most likely that will solve the issue.

    Edit: This problem is found on early batches of the Apollo x8p. I contacted UAD regarding this issue, sent detailed information to UAD support with sugeested fixes but I guess they wiped their arses with my email as evident by their inability to solve it for you.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2022
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  12. danfuerth

    danfuerth Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    71
    If you installed the required software before hooking up the interface...

    A wild theory here but

    This is the back of that interface...

    [​IMG]
    This audio interface has what looks like an addon thunderbolt card like Yamaha or Presonus audio Mixers.
    These cards on the mixers are pushed into a plug slot and they also notorious for being installed crooked so they lose connection, they must line up before you screw the outer plate in.

    I would not hesitate for 1 second to open that interface up to see if that card was installed properly.
    Could of been installed slightly out or moved out during shipping.

    UAD are not that great in customer service, smug attitudes.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  13. notrace

    notrace Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    77
    Unless you have a defective interface (which is possible). I suspect that all the software required to enable the Thunderbolt port on the motherboard is missing something.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  14. SDFMusic

    SDFMusic Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Venice, Florida
    Thunderbolt 4. As explained above I have latest of everything.
     
  15. SDFMusic

    SDFMusic Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Venice, Florida
    Thanks but Im not opening it. Keeping it intact is my only chance to get my $3000 back.
     
  16. SDFMusic

    SDFMusic Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Venice, Florida
    @The Pirate As soon as my friend arrives I will try your suggestion. You sound confident about the solution. Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  17. 11Fletcher

    11Fletcher Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Noumea
    Not sure if you had the same issue as I have (Apollo Quad with the Thunderbold 3 card), to make mine work, I have to turn on the computer, then turn on the Apollo, then reboot the computer (with the Apollo still on). Without this, the card doesn't show up (I can also unplug/plug back the thunderbold cable with the Apollo still on to have the same result).
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  18. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    2,596
    @11Fletcher, that can be true of hardware sometimes with Boot/power sequences to accommodate random devices; but the initial install has to go correctly for him to even end up in your boat. After the unit is detected the first time, disconnections/power interruptions usually are "ok".


    here: https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/360051069631--Windows-UAD-Uninstall-Reinstall-Procedure

    This is the Windows equivalent to look at. I am on Mac, but there was a dedicated tool I found on the site after a lot of research that their tech help wouldn't do for me. Anyway, the procedure for Windows appears to show you all the locations to find their files you need to delete.

    I think iirc I even reinstalled MacOS trying to get installed. I'd take this as a fast lesson into the world of UAD; and get your money back. Get a Motu or a RME, Apogee, or even an Antelope. Before they get away with your money.....

    If the item is non-defective, you'll get it working. But after 1 tech support experience with 3 grand on the line, do you really want us to get it working?
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2022
  19. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    4,407
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    I am telling you. Thunderbolt x8p not being detected by Meter software with good cables, and a working Thunderbolt port, is the firmware issue I described above. The unit needs the latest firmware in order to be detected. Without that firmware being installed I do not care what you do, it is not going to work. Since it is not detected by the Meter software on a PC. For that, you HAVE to use a Mac. In fact, since it is not detected you can't even register it as new or used. The Mac will detect it. Do not install or reinstall anything until you try what I suggested. I have 2 x8p and one x16 and both x8p had the same issue. Because I intended to use them on a ASUS Thunderbolt 4 with a Z690 chipset, and it was a new design I thought that the mb was faulty. I tried other thunderbolt 3 and 4 devices, and once I determined they worked fine I then knew it was not my new PC or the cables. It had to be the UAD interface but both could not be defective, therefore, I suspected a firmware issue that could not be fixed on a Windows OS. This was not the first time that I encountered firmware that was not amenable to a specific OS. Indeed, I have had the same issue with Behringer Neutron, Isla Instrument Kordbot, so why not do the same with the Apollos. As soon as the Apollos were connected to the Mac the firmware was updated. Once I hooked them back to the PC they were recognized. If your TB is working, and your cables are ok, the firmware update will solve it. Again, no need to be installing, reinstalling anything, much less opening it and running the risk of voiding the warranty. If anything send it back and get a Cranesong, Antelope, or RME TB interface.

    Edit: Just to be clear, Cranesong does not come with Thunderbolt but in my opinion it is one the best interface out there. Antelope will not work (yet) on thunderbolt 4 but you can use the uSB or a Thunderbolt PCie card. It is an excellent interface. RME with Thunderbolt is a beast, and also haas USB. One of the advantages of Thunderbolt is in the number of I/O ans ability to daisy chain for even more I/O. All of these 3 interfaces offer some other type of digital connectivity besides USB and Thunderbolt.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2022
    • Like Like x 3
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  20. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    4,407
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    Some of the software from UAD can only be downloaded after registration but the Apollo can't be registered if it is not being detected, the unit must be connected to UAD servers. All the money they charge for these interfaces, and their service support is SHIT. More so when it comes to Windows users. Simply put, UAD does not give a fuck about Windows users, as shown by Luna being macOS only.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  21. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    2,596
    This was my overall point about the matter. You should go work for them, because you have a better working memory of their units than they do. You would at least think that after they discovered this, they would put notes in IT system so when users with affected model and serial range were on the phone, they wouldn't need you to take care of their customer for them.

    For someone shelling out real money for rack units and satellites you'd think they would not even leave you in limbo about it.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Thunderbolt Apollo being Forum Date
Does anyone have a windows laptop that works well with apollo twin mk2 (thunderbolt)? PC Aug 24, 2019
FS: UAD-2 Satellite QUAD Thunderbolt DSP Accelerator + TOP 62 PLUGINS Selling / Buying Feb 23, 2024
Thunderbolt II USB-C adapter? Computer Hardware Nov 19, 2023
Thunderbolt wire to an audio interface Soundgear Sep 28, 2023
LaCie Rugged 2TB Thunderbolt upgrade Computer Hardware Nov 13, 2022
Loading...