Trying sendig music to radio stations

Discussion in 'Internet for Musician' started by Triple, Sep 26, 2016.

1. Triple

Triple Member

Hi!
    A radio station in my country (of national reach) has on its web emails to presenters/DJs who host various broadcasts on this station. Out of curiosity, I'm gonna send them my song and ask if they could play it on air:) (maybe I'm too naive thinking that they'd care... :) But I'll see if they reply to me at all:)

However, I'm a no-name artist. Haven't released any songs yet.

(Assuming that the radio station would like my song) :
    1) Do you know if a radio station could be willing to air a song that has no ISRC code and no barcode? (as my song hasn't been released yet)

2) If they search for me e.g. on facebook they'll probably see my fanpage (which I created yesterday) which has 0 fans. Would this factor discourage them from playing the song on air? (we still assume they like the song and they're open to promote young artists).
    Would it be better to buy e.g. a 1000 fake fans for my facebook fanpage (before I send them the song)?

cheers:)

3. stevitch

stevitch Audiosexual

1) Check the laws or standards for your country, for the answer to this.

2) It's a sad state of affairs, when people make a binding pre-estimation of the quality of an artist's work, or of its commercial viability, based upon the number of Fecebook "likes" or fans/followers. "100,000 idiots like this" - so it must be good.

Radio stations probably get a bazillion submissions meeting such requirements, so the question might be, how or by whom are they vetted?

4. Triple

Triple Member

Yeah, that's sad...

But would you advise me to buy the first 1000 facebook fans so that the radio guy didn't think "oh this artist doesn't deserve to be promoted on our radio because he didn't even gained any fanbase yet" ?

5. boogiewoogie

boogiewoogie Platinum Record