true mono;dual mono;big mono;wtf / true mono in live 9/10

Discussion in 'DAW' started by wasgedn, Oct 23, 2018.

  1. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Germany
    live doesnt record true mono tracks.....its always dual mono...but i saw many tuts with ppl having true mono tracks in live....also saw a tut how to do mono track from dual mono track in live through resampling but it didnt work for me..i think it was v 9.75 or version before , some time back , i had it long time installed and no upgrade to 10

    do you guys using true mono tracks in live 10 ?
    i mean i think to understand why live always records in dual mono but anyways...and i thnik logic does too
     
  2.  
  3. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    Location:
    Sweden
    Enable mono inputs in preferences? :)

    All other DAWs lets you record in mono, dual mono, stereo interleaved, etc. It would be hilariously bad if Ableton Live wouldn't let you record in mono.
     
  4. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    You can use the 'Mono' preset in Utility. Or set the Stereo width to 0 in default Utility.

    What Baxter said is how I usually do it. Enable Mono Outputs 1&2 instead of Stereo Outputs 1/2 in Live's Audio Preferences.
     
  5. KungPaoFist

    KungPaoFist Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    204
    Location:
    CA
    Yea, you can set the mono status of tracks in Live preferences. There is a button in the "Audio" tab underneath the audio interface dropdown name "input configuration". You can make channel 1 & 2 stereo on the left column and also set them to operate independently as mono in the right.
     
  6. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    Location:
    Sweden
    I know you meant *inputs, so I'll just leave it at that.
     
  7. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    @Baxter My dyslexia is mutating. Thank you for leaving it alone.
     
  8. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Germany
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    i duno if this softsynths have true mono output but when i do this on other puter with basstation which is mono , i have same outcome
     
  9. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Germany
    i kno and you have two waveformtracks-graffics on one track anyways then but its mono then yes...but i want a track with just 1 waveform graffic just like mono ..record in mono...one waveformtrack...
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2018
  10. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Germany
    also that u still have to use utility tool to trim gain is not so....they should have done it like in studio1
     
  11. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Germany
    is dual mono a stereo track without panning information..?

    is it dual mono when i record mono source in live and have not used utility to make it mono yet?

    is dual mono also called big mono..?
     
  12. m9cao

    m9cao Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    106
    ableton not a daw, its a dj daw
    cant stand why so many fake 'pro' use that shit
     
  13. Ballz

    Ballz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Naw, it's a DAW...You may not like and you're entitled to your own opinion but its a DAW. LOL, at the "fake pro" line...I bet you those "fake pros" make way more money than you do...Ableton can do pretty much anything Pro Tools can do btw.
     
  14. m9cao

    m9cao Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    106
    stop defending yourself, lets back and facing the truth
     
  15. Ballz

    Ballz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Tell me how Ableton is incapable of being a "Real" DAW.
     
  16. wasgedn

    wasgedn Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    325
    Location:
    Germany
    is dual mono a stereo track without panning information..?

    is it dual mono when i record mono source in live and have not used utility to make it mono yet?

    is dual mono also called big mono..?
     
  17. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    Location:
    Sweden
    I don't own/use Ableton Live.

    AFAIK, stereo is dual mono interleaved. Basically same thing. But technically when you process a stereo file you do it on both. Dual mono means the processing is split into two mono, although synced (like dual mono block amplifiers or dual mono EQs). Surpricingly, most EQs (for example) are stereo and not many EQs are dual mono, where you can EQ left side independantly from the right side. My favorite EQ called ApQualizr2 can be switched from stereo to dual mono (and M/S).

    Not sure if that helped at all. You just gotta open up your files and find out.
    Pro Tools lets you record stereo as two separate mono files, but they are grouped as a stereo interleaved (dual mono) so that you can process them (and move them in time, etc) individually as you like.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  18. Andrew

    Andrew AudioSEX Maestro Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    995
    Location:
    Between worlds
    Dual mono in stereo lossy encoding refers to unshared bitrate between channels.
    If a MP3 @ 320kbps is encoded as dual mono, 160kbps is reserved for each channel with no overlap. This is the least efficient way of storing stereo signal, but one that ensures no crosstalk.
    Joint stereo is the exact opposite, it calculates the channel differences and so only L-R is stored along with mono signal. With L+R and L-R you can near-losslessly reconstruct stereo signal, but there might be slight aliasing errors.
    Parametric stereo compresses the L-R signal further, however such process is no longer lossless. In general Joint stereo is used for bitrates above 224kbps, while parametric is for lower bitrates.
    Dual mono is almost never used, and it's almost archaic parameter in lame encoder, but its original intention was for dubbed audio, for example left channel would be English and right channel Spanish.

    FLAC take the Joint stereo approach, but instead of saving L-R, Mid and Side information is stored separately, leading to even better compression ratios while still remaining lossless to its original.

    Not an answer to your question, but I suppose in Live the meaning might be similar
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - true mono dual Forum Date
New Order - True Faith (Instrumental Strange Sounds Remix) Our Music Oct 23, 2018
WS Audio Trueno - Analogue Synth on a USB Stick Instruments Dec 3, 2017
The True Heart of the Blues Lounge Sep 9, 2017
Conflict between True Strike and 8dio 1990 piano Kontakt Sep 1, 2017
Presonus Studio One and True Peak Studio One Jun 14, 2017
Loading...