Too much input

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by coppertank, Oct 30, 2019.

  1. coppertank

    coppertank Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys,

    I have a complitely stock Ibanez RGDIX7MPB (haven't done any changes at all).
    Also, i have a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd generation and a Samson MDA1 DI box (active DI box for the passive guitar).

    The problem is: i plug my guitar to the DI box, then the DI to the Focusrite, but the input is too high (with a hard stroke the Scarlett clips). So i switch on the -15db of the MDA1, but the input is still too high.
    At the end, in order to not make the signal clip with a hard stroke, i have the Focusrite's input gain set close to the minimum.

    I wonder if this is right, any suggestions?
     
  2.  
  3. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Europe
    Why do you use a DI box? It should work without one.
     
  4. coppertank

    coppertank Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Because without DI the guitar signal is high as well. I heard that with a DI (besides having a balanced input) the input of the guitar could be reduced, so i bought one. If i plug the guitar directly in the Focusrite, i must keep the input gain much lower (like 1/4) than the half of the knob to not make the Scarlett clip with a hard stroke.

    Is that right for you?
     
  5. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Europe
    If the input doesn't clip with 1/4 turn up, that's ok.
    Additionally it shouldn't be a problem if it clips rarely.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  6. electriclash

    electriclash Guest

    have you tried switching to line input (not instrument?)
    line.png
     
  7. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,113
    Likes Received:
    1,940
    Location:
    Sweden
    Why not use the -30dB pad and turn the gain down to minimum? That ought to fix it. :) If not, you have the hottest (output) guitar in the world.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  8. coppertank

    coppertank Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok thanks :)
     
  9. coppertank

    coppertank Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes i tried, but i see a difference (the signal is reduced a bit) only when the guitar is plugged directly in the interface. When i do that with the DI i see no difference, i don't know why.
     
  10. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Europe
    Inst input is for 1/4'' jack.
     
  11. coppertank

    coppertank Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks a lot
     
  12. coppertank

    coppertank Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is no pad button in the 3rd gen focusrite (don't know in the 2nd), but i think i will use the line swtitch.
     
  13. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,113
    Likes Received:
    1,940
    Location:
    Sweden
    Look on your Samson DI. :wink:
     
  14. Oimsio

    Oimsio Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    26
    Good evening here.


    the bass or guitar outputs are high impedances (10 kohms). In addition, these instruments are connected to the mixer or sound card by a mono jack cable that is unbalanced.

    However, the input of the mixer or sound card is symmetrical and requires a low impedance level (mic or line input)

    so,

    you can connect directly with a jack in the instrument input of your sound card,

    or you plug it into the DI and from the box you output in XLR in the microphone input of your sound card.

    If you have a buzz, you have a ground lift.

    It's not a JCM 800 to be pushed to 11, is it?

    1/4 for the level is sufficient;:))

    if it helps

    cheers from spain
     
  15. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    390
    Have come across this problem twice within the same month from two different bass players that had modded their active pickup systems from 9 volts to 18 volts.

    One from the D.I. out of the players amp into the studio console, the other from a D.I. in a live concert venue.

    Caused some kind of amperage & impedance mis-match. If your system is passive, look for an impedance problem.

    Also, are you using any kind of "special cable or, just normal instrument/line cable?
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
Loading...
Loading...