Tone2 Plugins Fix (Walkthrough)

Discussion in 'Software Reviews and Tutorials' started by Sylenth.Will.Fall, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    924
    This was tested on WIn7 64 Bit.

    Here is a (what started out as) an easy workaround for anyone wanting to install a new product without losing their old ones.

    IMPORTANT:- block *Tone2.com* in your firewall, or hosts file, AND:-

    (Please make copies of ALL t2k files before you begin. )

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Note:- This must be performed with ALL tone2 products that use a t2k file BEFORE running the new product. (Only needs to be done once though) If already past that stage. You will need to replace the t2k file as the tone2 product will delete it.

    1 Copy t2k file to where the vst is located (Although it should already be there)

    2 r/click on t2k file/properties/attributes/'read-only' & 'hidden' to be checked (this is IMPORTANT to do BEFORE changes are made)

    3 r/Click on t2k file/Properties/Security/Edit


    Using 'System' as an example:-

    a) Click on 'system'
    b) In the 'permissions for system' box, scroll to to 'write' and select 'deny'

    Then repeat (b) for each listing contained in the 'group or user names' box

    ----------------------------------------

    then click on add
    then advanced
    find now (this will populate the search box)
    Click on 'cryptographic operators'
    OK that
    OK again
    Cryptographic Operators * now appear in 'group or user names' box
    click on 'Cryptographic Operators' *
    uncheck 'allow' for read and read & execute' (But don't deny them)
    check 'deny' for write
    Ok
    Ok


    * This section is for those who cannot find 'Cryptographic Operators'

    1) Click on 'start' from the desktop
    2) In 'search programs and files' type Services.msc
    3) Scroll down to 'Cryptographic Services' and select AUTO and start the service.


    You may need to reboot (not sure about that )

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Ignore any error messages, you may get one initially and once in a while, but it wont stop it from working.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2016
    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. tidus1990

    tidus1990 Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    96
    any idea on how to do this on mac?
     
  4. Impressive

    Impressive Guest

    I personally never had any problems of it on mac. In fact, I'm not even sure if there's any problems with tone2 stuff on mac. I could be wrong tho.
     
  5. tidus1990

    tidus1990 Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    96
    All my licenses just got deleted on mac
     
  6. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    924
    I gotta be honest, I have never even used a Mac. I really wouldn't know where to start.




    Do you have the t2k files backed up? You need them to get the licences back. Is there a roll back feature on a Mac?
     
  7. tidus1990

    tidus1990 Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    96
    I just put the licenses back in the plugin folder. Everything back to work for now.
     
  8. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,954
    Likes Received:
    1,957
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    On OS-X you could also try changing permissions of the t2k files from the command line console or even GUI to preserve them from getting deleted by changing permissions. I googled "OSX change permissions files" and got some good links that might help you. Like this one: https://thoughtsviewsopinions.wordp...ilefolder-permissions-and-privileges-in-os-x/ or this one: https://apple.stackexchange.com/que...he-permission-of-multiple-files-using-the-gui

    One of the main problems [IMO] of OS-X users is that you want everything done by other people for you, never do anything yourself. So lazy. :sad:

    Cheers! :headbang:
     
  9. artwerkski

    artwerkski Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    476
    Location:
    The outer rim
    ... all of us or just a lazy few ??
     
  10. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,958
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    best walkaround is to uninstall everything from Tone2.

    their products stay malware.
     
    • Agree x 6
    • Like x 3
    • Winner x 3
    • Disagree x 2
    • Funny x 1
    • List
  11. DanielFaraday

    DanielFaraday Platinum Record

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    196
    That's why their fully working pirated plugins on my pc is quintessence of justice. (^^,,)
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  12. modelarmy

    modelarmy Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    32
    No i have no problems. Block website put 2t.key file on components and it works with anything.
    But make a Backup. Better safe than sorry. Good luck to everyone.:wink:
     
  13. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    570
    It's Unix so command line. 755 is not the correct permission you need just and example.
    Here's how to find a folder's current permissions and change them:
    1. Open the Terminal application.
    2. Type ls –l , and then press Return. The symbolic permissions of the files and folders in your home directory are displayed, as shown below.
    3. Type chmod 755 foldername, and then press Return
     
  14. calqlater5

    calqlater5 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    followed the steps exactly on the same system and when I get to
    Find Now, there is no option for crytographic operator
     
  15. sisyphus

    sisyphus Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    329
    I think people would be best to pay heed to this good SAGE advice. He is NOT kidding....

    Thanks to everyone sharing and all, and that is the right thing in the essence of everything here, so cool,.... and I don't want to sound like chicken little.... but yeah...... I seriously wouldn't touch this with someone elses ten foot pole... and I wouldn't say so if I didn't mean it. peace.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  16. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    924
    You're not wrong Artic. I only installed it to see if it was any different to all their other stuff. Then when it was working I wondered how it would integrate .(Funny because I ALWAYS get deja Vu when I try a tone 2 product.) I only found all this just by messing about with it.


    Sorry I cannot help. I don't even know what 'cryptographic operator' does. Messing about with it was more interesting than the sound I got from it.
     
  17. ca5plays

    ca5plays Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    12
    people still use those crappy plugins ? pssssffffffff!
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  18. Alpha0ne

    Alpha0ne Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    112
    I dont know why they bring out new synths, since they all sound the same.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  19. Impressive

    Impressive Guest

    Yeah that's pretty obvious. I personally don't mind the tone2 stuff but I wish they'd make something different. Not only do they sound the same, they are all the same. It's basically the same synth just different GUI's & presets. It's really weird but I like the sounds they include. I like anything that has presets by "bigtone" in it. I use most of their sounds in all my music. You can tell it was made by Bigtone if you see "BT" at the end of the preset names. I like those sounds - the starry phased pads with the cool effects in the background. Cool stuff.
     
  20. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    924
    I think the biggest problem people have with Tone2, is the injection of highly suspect code that is put on a pc when you install any of it. That has a knock on effect and prejudices somewhat a perception of how the thing sounds.
    If you take one of their synths (ANY one of their synths) and did a blind test, many of the presets you'd probably say sounded good, but the other gripe I have with them is that if you try any of their other synths afterwards, you'd think you were listening to the same synth and same presets, but with a few knobs turned to different settings.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  21. Blue

    Blue Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    France
    I don't have "cryptographic operator" once I have clicked on "find".
    That may be an other name??
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Tone2 Plugins (Walkthrough) Forum Date
Please help with tone2 plugins bundle Software Sep 5, 2018
Tone2 Plugins - To install or not? Software Jan 20, 2016
Who solved the problem of file ".t2k" Tone2 always deleted ? Software Mar 14, 2019
Tone2 Products are Malware? Software Oct 11, 2018
Can I get some clarity on the whole "Tone2 fux with your system" thing? Software Dec 26, 2017
Loading...