Tips on clean uninstall/install of Audioutopia Pro Tools 12.5 Windows 7

Discussion in 'Pro Tools' started by Agent007, Nov 12, 2018.

  1. Agent007

    Agent007 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Wherever Nord VPN takes me
    As the title says I need to do a complete uninstall of Pro Tools 12.5 by Audioutopia. The OS is Windows 7. Thanks in advance.
     
  2.  
  3. Agent007

    Agent007 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Wherever Nord VPN takes me
    Any Pro Tools experts in the house?
     
  4. The-RoBoT

    The-RoBoT Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Plan 9
    Use the supplied batch file uninstaller

    C:\ProgramData\AudioUTOPiA
    Then Run as Administrator the (Correct Named) Batch file, it will call Uninstall64.exe
    Same method applies to all their releases.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2018
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  5. Agent007

    Agent007 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Wherever Nord VPN takes me
    @The-RoBoT Thanks! This thing was driving me nuts. Any registry entries that must be deleted?


    Edit. I dont see the entry for Pro Tools. In fact, I checked on another system and there is not any entries for Pro Tools inside the C:\Program Data\Audioutopia\ folder. I ran the -fix command for the uninstall to no avail
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2018
  6. rudolph

    rudolph Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    319
    Go to Control Panel - Programs and Characteristics - Avid ProTools - Right Click - Uninstall.
     
  7. Agent007

    Agent007 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Wherever Nord VPN takes me
    I tried it and it gives the following message: Error 1316: The specified account already exists After this error the uninstall stops
     
  8. Hybridstudios

    Hybridstudios Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    14
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  9. keyone1

    keyone1 Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    i guess i probably missed something...
    but for a fresh install i would advice you to delete these paths:

    these two are invisible, so don't forget to activate seeing invisible folders!
    C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Avid
    C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Avid

    C:\Program Files\Avid
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Avid
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Avid

    and this registry (hold windows + r and type "regedit" without ")
    Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Avid
    Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Avid
    Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Avid Technology
    Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Avid

    these are all for windows 10 but shouldnt be much different from those in windows 7
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
  10. GianaSister

    GianaSister Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    61
    for uninstalling i use revo uninstaller pro portable
     
Loading...
Loading...