Tips for transferring to new PC?

Discussion in 'PC' started by lordradish, Oct 27, 2018.

  1. Rudy Manterie

    Rudy Manterie Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Callisto
    make an image with macrium reflect (free for private use) and deploy that on the new computer
     
  2. Ankit

    Ankit Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    221
    I know it won't help but clean install is best solution.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  3. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    I used October 2017 release for mine, but would recommend any of the last 2018 releases for newer computers due to USB3 driver problem when installing W7 with newer chipsets. Their release is not a "lite" release, indeed, but I noticed that I couldn't uninstall some things I wanted gone from the "lite" release I used, so I used a "normal" release [unchanged MS official+all updates] and uninstalled everything I don't need from it later. Yes, it uses much more HD, but once you uninstall MS crap you don't need from it, make audio optimisations, and reduce the services according to BlackViper website, everything works OK, and the memory usage is reduced to just a bit over 500MB. That's alright. :wink:

    I still would prefer a proper "W7 audio lite" release, but I haven't found the time to make one. :sad:
     
  4. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    MOVIE MAKER ,media player :how do deinstall ?:dunno:when not in rt seven ..

    its worth it...:invision::hillbilly:but i kno why you dont , cause you little to big IT perfectionista and thats why(and thats good so..he he) . you would raise more time than assess'ed for such work...heh heh...
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2018
  5. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    Everything you can uninstall is in "Programs and Features">"Windows Features". If I remember correctly, I uninstalled all of the "Microsoft Multimedia" from there, and like 95% of their stuff, actually. I did leave the Photo Viewer, though. It's fine. Notepad and Paint can come in handy. :rofl:

    I absolutely agree about removing Movie Maker, Media Player, and IE - which you can't remove completely, but at least you can tell it to sod off. ;)
     
  6. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    i have feeling IE is the hardest one....i think to remember clearly that i removed it in rt7 but on my lite version is a IE damn...but i can live with it for the first...
    also in the meantime i became pretty fast to custom a full win7 installation...doesnt take long if you kno youre shit well...
    ------------
    i was dreaming bout wrapping vst file system into win lite with rt7 he he...bit utopic i guess..
     
  7. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    leave old drive as backup/restore source,
    do perform clean install,
    if you buy new specs, then don't bother installing Windows 7, because lack of drivers will make everything painful (last time I installed Ryzen rig for a friend, only one combo PS2 port for keyboard and sata optical drive was available for install, quite unpleasant experience involving second PC to swap system drives in order to copy actual drivers!)
    try if all things work, if you loose some presets or custom settings, only then copy those from the old drive
     
  8. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    win7 best audio windows OS after XP .....win10...is see no benefit for me only negatives....sames as vst3 fraud
    maybe true but have feeling with asus or msi board and intel chip you would have not so much trouble ....forget bout common usb3 driver...best is buy usb3 card with driver cd...
    i dont need that much drivers....firewire,gpu,chipset,usb3...i run completly unupdated os on main puter at moment my lite version..ok c++ and redis is needed for some warez..it lack some win workflow updates but i can live with it since i believe like this it has best performance...
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
  9. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    ASUS PRIME B350-PLUS was the mobo, forget about USB completely regardless of version, because the EHCI/XHCI implementation is entirely different within BIOS, also network driver doesn't work out of the box, so really only way to get drivers (which are available on mobo manufacturer website) into the new PC running Windows 7 is only from SATA (either drive or CD),
    been there, done that, multiple times;
    speaking of firewire, it's an obsolete technology which is basically not supported in Windows 10 at all, so actually you might be more lucky running Windows 7 IF you will be lucky picking right mobo;
    I was dealing with similar issues years back, finally ended up with MacOS hackintosh :chilling:
     
  10. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    heh heh im a hopeless case
    ----------------
    yea hackintosh is the only exception in puncto mac...(for me)i mean i never would run a mac but hackintosh is worth a thought..
     
  11. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    which wire u use..?
     
  12. grdh20

    grdh20 Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    131
    The biggest pain is all those hardware code based keys and licenses that have to be re-done.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  13. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    you mean audio interface?
    I use PCIexpress interface (RME HDSPe AIO), which has 2in/2out balanced XLR and 6.3" TRS headphones, but also features 8in/8out ADAT so I can plug additional preamps/converters via optics (so no electrical ground loops),
    I use usb 2.0 interfaces for recording on the go, as a matter of fact usb 2.0 can handle up to about 70 audio channels, it's just a pity most manufacturers are incapable of providing solid drivers (I use old RME Fireface UFX and old RME Babyface)
     
  14. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    i really like adat i dont own it but i like it...but that optical has no ground loops is one of those knowledge gaps i had until a second ago..thx...thats very cool..

    pretty obvious with word optical involved anyway:deep_facepalm:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  15. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,392
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    I still haven't had a pleasure of installing anything newer than Intel x270 based PCs. I would really like to see a Ryzen PC, because that's what I'm planning to buy for my next PC. If the new PC won't work with W7 properly, which I haven't encountered yet with any of my builds, I'll just go the Hackintosh route, too, rather than continuing to struggle with Microsoft shit. I was never really fond of Windows, anyway, especially because I know it like the back of my hand. The more I knew about it, the more I hated it :wink:
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  16. wasgedn

    wasgedn Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Germany
    curious what you will report bout ryzen
     
  17. Qrchack

    Qrchack Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    142
    Really? It's not that hard to look up what hardware you have. I wouldn't touch the auto driver update apps, especially the ones marketed as "booster", and even more so "gaming". This is absolutely not needed and it's borderline begging for malware. The place you should get your drivers from is the manufacturer. Always.
     
Loading...
Loading...