this instrument belongs to a library that is not installed

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by bdawg13, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. bdawg13

    bdawg13 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all! I know this has been mentioned a lot, but I can't seem to find a solution in any thread. I want to know if there is fix that applies to this problem with any kontakt instrument. I'm having a problem with a few kontakt instruments. Some have the NICNT file in the folder containing the Instruments folder, some don't. I'm just wondering if there is one way to fix this issue that will work for most Kontakt instruments that keep giving the pop-up "this instrument belongs to a library that is not installed".

    I love when you can just drop them in to Kontakt and they load up, I wish I knew had to fix this problem of when they don't load right up and give that error. Do I just move the NICNT file somewhere? Delete reg files? I hope this post can be an end all to this issue, thanks so much!

     
  2.  
  3. jazzzz

    jazzzz Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    80
    The fix is: you must read the threads that discuss this issue.
    If you have read just a few of those threads, you would know that the answers depend on the system you use (mac or windows), the version you have, the Kontakt instrument you try to load etc.
    Once again, you must read the suggestions instead of improvising other things like "just drop them into Kontakt and load up". Nobody has ever suggested that!
    From those threads you would also understand the difference between libraries (that you must add in Kontakt to be able to load) and individual instrument patches that you can just load from the Files tab (or from Quick-load panel).
    Also, the environment where you try to add libraries in Kontakt, have you messed it up before with other attempts (using the same SNPID numbers)?
    All of these have already been broadly discussed here.
    And you didn't even say what you did before getting this alert message. So, how could anyone help you?
     
  4. Charly R

    Charly R Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answer
    I had the same problem saying the same error than yours (“this instrument belongs”...).The problem was because my library was using the same SPNID from another library. You can edit it opening the NICNT file.

    Actually I have registry of all the SPNIDS that I used “manually” because the library doesn’t came with the NICNT file and then I created a new one.

    After all I ended deleted a lot of libraries that I was not using to have a better control.

    I’m on mac but if you are on Win as I know there are some tools for creating the NICNT files.

    Just remember to use the remove library button from kontakt (not your hard disk) and then add it again. Also delete the xml file created.

    Sometimes you will need to relocate the samples of the library that used first that SPNID number before the new library.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2019
  5. mikeg123

    mikeg123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Jazzzz I have tried this backwards and forwards as well before resulting to posting here, as I can tell you are confident the answers have all already been addressed, but for the life of me I cannot get this library to properly remove so that I may add it and not get that damn "this instrument belongs to a library that is currently not installed" error message. I'm on a Mac. It was a library that came with a nicnt file. I tried creating my own nicnt file for it in hopes of getting rid of the activation window and demo option (is that where the instructions lie telling kontakt to keep a library in demo mode or not?) and I am CERTAIN that the SNPID number did not match any other libraries. I also deleted the xml and both plist files after doing so. No matter what though I still get that error message when trying to load the library. Also worth noting that I get a different error message in Kontakt 5 after reloading the library once I clean out all those files and it's: "Your new Library needs to be added before this Instrument can be used. Please go to Kontakt's Libraries tab and press the Add Library button." Ironically it says this when trying to load any preset from the library once it's been added to the Library tab. Kontakt 6 stays with the other error message though.
    Any help would be very much appreciated. The library worked the first time, then I tried making a new nicnt file and wallpaper with the hopes of getting rid of the activation window/demo mode when using the library, and it has never worked since, even when dragging back the original nicnt file that it initially worked with.
    Also, I was planning on adding quite a few libraries and am curious before I do so if Kontakt will get bogged down from me doing this after a certain number of libraries or if the amount of libraries in the libraries tab has not effect on the actual performance of Kontakt?
    Greatly appreciate your sage advice my friend.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2019
  6. jazzzz

    jazzzz Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    80
    Wait a minute, you are speaking about activation window and demo mode. Your primary problem is that your Kontakt is not k'ed or not properly. You need to solve it first, then you can try the libraries.
    And if you have a library with its official .nicnt, it's better not to change it. There are libraries that don't work with custom .nicnt
     
Loading...
Loading...