There is a limiter that does not limit to 100%?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by ryck, Nov 14, 2019.

Tags:
  1. ryck

    ryck Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    74
    There is a limiter that does not limit to 100%
    that is to miss some peaks
    to be limited to 90% or 99%
    Or some likes these ..maybe whit have option " mix " ?
    Thanks guys
     
  2.  
  3. Bellaki

    Bellaki Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    A.O.M Invisible Limiter G2 has a mix knob :like:
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. Blue

    Blue Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    646
    Location:
    France
    Put your limiter on an FX track and mix both tracks.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  5. jhagen

    jhagen Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    65
    Limiters limit peaks.

    Compressors reduce dynamic range.

    What you need is up to you.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  6. devilorcracker

    devilorcracker Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    172
    With a mix knob the A.O.M become compressor-style.
    What you should try is Joey Sturgis Tone - Finality. It is a pure limiter + saturation with a mix knob.
     
  7. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    2,162
    Location:
    Europe
    A limiter is a compressor specialized for infinite ratio, at least it should be. Therefore you can also use a compressor with a ratio of 20:1 and most of them have this, or higher and an attack time of a few ms.
    20:1 means, if a signal is 20dB above the threshold the output is risen by 1dB and if you set the threshold in a way that the input is only, for instance, 5dB above it...
    An attack time of ~ 2 - 5ms will then let some transients pass through.
    You only have to be careful that the signal won't be distorted, so don't set the release time to 0.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yeah, use a compressor (variable ratio)...which also has a mixknob. :rofl:Win/win.
     
  9. Talmi

    Talmi Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    1,664
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    Or better yet use Compassion from DMG Audio. A compressor with a mix knob, a ratio that can go to infinite and beyond (yep I swear, it becomes negative beyond) but that also includes a limiter, a clipper, heck even a transient designer (why not after all)....
    Let's go crazy and have it all.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  10. Triple Kill

    Triple Kill Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Moscow
    GClip bro. :yes:
    This plugin about to end your whole career
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  11. ryck

    ryck Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    74
    Thanks guys for all answers.
    I tried whit compressor whit inf radio or 20:1 . But no do it like a limited whit some packs ( little ).
    Yesterday im play whit Gclip whit " mix " and do it something like i try. But im still try whit all tools us give me.
    That im pretend is play whit this peacks. I dont want will my mix or tracks. I want take this peack and play whit this ( eq , reverb ) cause i think not is the same apply eq or reverb to dinamics that a loundess.
     
  12. Friggy

    Friggy Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    35
    I was thinking about this the last week or two, that I would like Pro-L2 to have a mix knob. Pro-L2 has algorithms that other compressors can't match, so it didn't make sense to use a comp with a higher ratio, they just don't react the same. And Pro-L2 on a drum bus just doing some heavy work sounds real good.

    But I just remembered Patchworks has a mix knob in it. I need to try it, but as long as the phase is accurate, any limiter can be used in Patchworks and then mixed in with the dry/wet control.
     
  13. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    Sweden
    *with

    Are you simply looking for a transient designer? Your posts doesn't make much sense to me. Maybe it's a language thing.
     
  14. Nightmix

    Nightmix Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    42
    Any limiter that has both an input gain and and output gain can limit below the 0db ceiling. (For example FabFilter Pro-L2.) If you want to limit at -3db for example, turn the plugin's input gain up by 3db, and then turn the output gain down by 3db.

    I am still perplexed and confused after all these years at how much confusion and misunderstanding arises when someone says they simply want to limit below the ceiling.
     
  15. junh1024

    junh1024 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    339
    Some DAWs have a wet knob for all FX. Depends on which DAW you use.
     
  16. ryck

    ryck Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    74
    Yes , i try whit patchworks . I dont remember what limiter a try ...but give me a sound like out phase.
     
  17. ryck

    ryck Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    74
    But if i put down - 3 db still limiter. what I want is my mix dont limiter 100% and peaks pass through the limiter
     
  18. ryck

    ryck Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    74
    surely influences language.but many people understood and gave me answers which works for me.
    Sorry if my post dont sense for you
     
  19. sir jack spratsky

    sir jack spratsky Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    98
    a limiter that doesn't limit 100 percent......a compressor
     
  20. JohnEncore

    JohnEncore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    10
    ryck - perhaps you should try to not use a limiter in the master channel but in certain tracks ... hard to understand the problem though
     
  21. ryck

    ryck Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    74
    [​IMG] Ok I understand that the language complicates it or maybe I am the compliant. I wanted a limiter that lets pass some peaks of the mix or a track. I already got it with invisible limiter g2. but more or less is what is in this image
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - limiter does limit Forum Date
Does FL Studio have an implemented limiter on the master? Mixing and Mastering Dec 24, 2018
Ever wanted to build your own VST limiter? [free eBook download - with DSP code] Education Sep 4, 2019
Cakewalk ProChannel Concrete Limiter where i can find ??? DAW Jul 24, 2019
Most transparent Limiter? Software Apr 8, 2019
New BUTE Limiter by Signum Audio Selling / Buying Mar 7, 2019
Loading...