The story about the Sarah ARR1.vc on the Fairlight CMI

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by ArticStorm, Mar 16, 2021.

1. ArticStorm

ArticStorm Moderator Staff Member

not sure where to put this:

I hope some of you know the

Here is the story behind the famous voice sample ARR1.vc :wink::guru:
    from https://archive.fo/ZvWet#selection-439.0-605.12
    ----------------------------
    The vocal sound sample "ARR1.VC" was included in the CMI Sound Libraries. There have been some queries and theories about how it was made so here's the story.

Background
    In 1980, I was a poor jazz music student at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. Dr. Martin Wesley-Smith was the head of Electronic Music there and had one of the early model Fairlight Series I CMIs. A man of great foresight and trust, he gave me carte blanche access to this amazing technology. It was fully kitted out in a small studio with a mixing desk, 8-track reel tape and a 2-track mastering reel tape. I spent all spare time exploring and creating music on this fantastic instrument (to the detriment of all other courses). Having a background in recording studio work and electronics also helped to get the best out of the CMI sampler e.g., signal-to-noise, sample rate, tuning, filtering etc.

I had done various samples of myself but these were pretty average sounding. At the time, a friend of a friend Sarah was a bluesy singer with a unique husky voice. Sort of like Lou Rhodes/Alicia Keys/Janis Joplin and perfect for sampling.

Prerequisites