The Most CPU-friendly EQ with Built-in Audio Spectrum Analyzer?

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by mercurysoto, Feb 21, 2020.

  1. mercurysoto

    mercurysoto Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    The bottom of the rabbit hole, next to Alice's
    Hello folks, I hope things are going well for all of you out there. Here's a quick question. Just like the title says, I want a CPU-friendly EQ with a built-in audio spectrum analizer, like Fabfilter's Q3.

    I am in love with Acon EQualize (no need for the Q3), but even though it is not a CPU hog, there comes a point where it just kills the audio engine in my DAW. for instance, the built-in EQ from Pro Tools is way more CPU-light and a great plugin, but it lacks the analyzer.

    Any pointers?

    Thanks in advance for your time.

    P.S. I need it to be AAX compatible, and I'm not considering adding a spectrum analyzer in my output bus (unless I'm missing out on something by not doing so). In short, I'd like a lighter plugin than EQualize.
     
  2.  
  3. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    2,428
    Location:
    Europe
    Voxengo GlissEQ aswell as PrimeEQ use 13% of TDR Nova here and since Nova is free you can easily download and estimate their consumption on your system.

    In case you're not a friend of Voxengo's, DDMF IIEQPro uses 20% of Nova's.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. mercurysoto

    mercurysoto Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Location:
    The bottom of the rabbit hole, next to Alice's
    Thank you, buddy. That's very useful input. :mates:
     
  5. 5teezo

    5teezo Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    585
    ProTools stock EQ has a modifier key (shift or alt/option) to solo the band you are working on, so maybe it's a work around for not having a spectrum analyzer.

    DMG EQuick is a great lightweight EQ with an Analyzer, too. I think if DMGs high end Equilibrium EQ would be simpler in workflow it would easily kill FabFilter ProQ. That's how good DMG stuff is.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  6. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Location:
    Europe
    MeldaProduction EQs, I'm sure they've AAX versions.
    I think MEqualizer is one of the fastest.

    Still, Pro Q3 is very fast in zero latency mode.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    2,428
    Location:
    Europe
    Ah, I forgot about EQuick. :facepalm: It's even easier on the CPU than PrimeEQ, GUI and analyzer are not as versatile as PrimeEQ but it sounds better than PrimeEQ and Nova. A bit more costly but if your focus is on sound (which it probably is), I'd go for EQuick.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. mephistoprod

    mephistoprod Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    i don't know about cpu consumption but i use voxengo span for this purpose.. i can recommend
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • List
  9. tsigoulas

    tsigoulas Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    The Melda production MEqualizer (FreeWare) is your best bet.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. eXACT_Beats_

    eXACT_Beats_ Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    219
    I would have to go with DMG's Equilibrium, but EQuick is also a good choice, if you're on a budget (or, don't indulge in the filthy act of pyracy. :rofl: )
    I'm not sure what Steezo means (
    ) as I've never found Equilibriums workflow any more or less "simple" than ProQ3, just different. The keyboard/mouse actions make the most sense to me of any EQ, but that's me. Basically it has so many ways that you set it up, it's easy to make it optimal for your work style. And? Both are very CPU friendly. :)
    That being said, EQuick is also wicked solid and a bill cheaper, but you might find the lack of certain features a downside. :shalom:

    Equilibrium:


    (There aren't any video for Equick, but you don't have to grab the demo to get the manuals for either of them.)

    Manuals: https://dmgaudio.com/downloads.php
     
  11. 5teezo

    5teezo Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    585
    "Workflow" may have been the wrong term here. I probably should have used "Setup process" instead. Because if you open up EQuilibrium for the first time after install you are greeted by a 6 pages deep setup wizard which is totally annoying:

    EQuilibrium Setup.png
     
  12. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Sweden
    ApQualizr2.

    Or..idk. I just love it though.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  13. dtmd

    dtmd Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    UrAnus
    Acon Digital Equalize2 is fairly decent, and superlight on cpu.
    Fabfilter copycat is also fairly decent, and light on cpu.
    Toneboosters Equalizer 4 is fairly decent, and light on cpu. And (price) cheap....
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  14. RMorgan

    RMorgan Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    359
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  15. hackerz4life

    hackerz4life Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Space
    What is so special about it compared to a dozen similar plugins. Even better than maat blue?
     
  16. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,919
    Likes Received:
    1,651
    Location:
    Europe
    Storms cominggggg.....:rofl:
    Without entering the upcoming argument, MAAT's plugins doesn't care at all about CPU usage. They're kind of the opposite, all about technical and sound extremely high standards. I once read their website and I can safely say even many pros don't even need that high specs. It never hurts though if you have a datacenter...
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  17. ampworks

    ampworks Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    England
    Yes Crave is the one these days
     
  18. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    2,428
    Location:
    Europe
    EQuilibrium is more CPU heavy than EQuick.

    Yeah, this step is a bit complicated.
     
  19. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,993
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    I'd say ToneBoosters' EQ 3 and DMG EQuick are both pretty great workhorse EQs with low CPU and spectral analysers.
     
  20. eXACT_Beats_

    eXACT_Beats_ Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    219
    Agreed, partially. It's not so much of a pain in the ass if you realize (not saying you don't,) that the settings you choose in the wizard aren't terribly important as, whatever you choose can be change in the settings page at any point after that, so it's not like you can mess it up or anything; it's just a starting point.

    Agreed, but I have an older PC that's far from a powerhouse, and I've never had the an issue, even with quite a few instances across the board, with Equilibrium taking up any significant amount of CPU resources, something which I have to constantly keep an eye on.
     
  21. Talmi

    Talmi Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Do you use Equalize in minimum phase mode (zero latency as opposed to linear phase mode) ?
    It shouldn't kill your cpu if you pile them up with a decent set up. I'm guessing Pro Tool stock eq operates in minimum phase mode by default...

    Edit : also analysers hit hard on the cpu. Once you're done with them on individual tracks disable them in the eq, just keep the ones on the buses alive.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
Loading...
Loading...