the midi newb(noob)

Discussion in 'Education' started by wasgedn, May 23, 2018.

  1. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    hello ,
    how to set up rack synth with bedroom inteface and oxy88..?
    can i use usb to midi cable e.g. Roland-UM-ONE-MK2-USB-MIDI-
    and plug it from oxygen keyboard into rack synth midi thru and midi in/out from interface to synth ??
    :hillbilly::deep_facepalm:
     
  2.  
  3. superliquidsunshine

    superliquidsunshine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Everywhere at once but no place in particular
    Ummm, a very interestingly worded question. Do you have an M-Audio Oxy-88 keyboard controller?

    The Oxy-88 is plugged into your computer via usb cable, the rack synth is connected to the Oxy-88 with a regular midi cable. The audio outputs of the rack synth are connected to your interface via 1/4 cables (or just one cable if is a mono synth, one cannot assume, can one). Now you can use your controller to use with any soft synth installed and seen in your DAW or standalone version as well as triggering sounds via midi from the rack synth. Other more elaborate uses such as program changes etcetera can be dealt with later. This should get you going. Make sure that your DAW recognises your Oxy and you are now good to go, as well as routing the sound coming out of the rack synth to their own channels. Bingo.
     
  4. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    868
    Location:
    Europe
    If I got it right from Roland homepage, this cable for connection between PC and MIDI-Synth/Drums...
     
  5. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    heh heh...thx mate....i just was thinking to buy korg monologue...and i found some other guess even better rack synth for nice-price....
     
  6. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
  7. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    i shouldnt turn up gain from synth to high on bedroom ur22 line in...is this right or has it no matter ??
     
  8. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    forgive me yes i have maudio oxygen and akai mini (@akaimini ..only pads and knobs are useable long the keys are rubber and only for small fingers eh eh)....

    EDIT and i was just thinking to have a mono synth for the first...bass
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2018
  9. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    868
    Location:
    Europe
    That was obvious to me.

    In detail this depends on the Synth's output and the sensitivity of the interface's inputs. In general, as long as it doesn't distort or the interface shows clipping, it's ok.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  10. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    unfortunately the oxy usb midi keyboard has no midi in/out....
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2018
  11. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    868
    Location:
    Europe
    What for? It has no sound, so that's not necessary.
     
  12. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    i trade reason6,5 dongle for an good midi keyboard/controller....:yes:....
     
  13. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
     
  14. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    may bad ...i meant no midi in/out at keyboard...not only in...sry

    edit i guess there would be only a midi out then...lol...forgive me...no native english no proper knowledge multiplie...sry...
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2018
  15. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    i didnt think bout that midi as i bought it some years ago...

    anyway you helped me a lot....
    ---------------------
     
  16. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    when i have a seq unit does it control the synth via CV ??
     
  17. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    868
    Location:
    Europe
    That should work.
     
  18. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    ahh...something i did know...whhooohhooo...thx mate:cheers:
     
  19. superliquidsunshine

    superliquidsunshine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Everywhere at once but no place in particular
    Your ok to play with the things I mentioned in my post. Now that I know it is a Bass Station we know that it is just a mono out for audio signal. You probably won't need anything connected to the CV input for now.

    Have fun.
     
  20. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    thx mate...:wink:
     
  21. wasgedn

    wasgedn Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Germany
    got another one:

    have longer midi cables more latency than short ones ?? edit or do they have near sero latency in common ??

    and...
    another option i could do , isnt to play the racksynth directly....i could use midi in out on interface to racksynth to send it programmed midinotes from DAW and to rec fader motion into DAW...
    am i wrong?:woot:
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2018
Loading...
Similar Threads - midi newb(noob) Forum Date
Logic-Midi bouncing Logic Tuesday at 12:56 PM
midi-fx Software Sunday at 1:26 PM
Mouse Movement XY-Pad to Midi PC Sunday at 3:38 AM
How to use a bank containing midi files and wav files ? Live Aug 8, 2018
Samplitude Pro X3 - Not recording VSTi MIDI data Samplitude Aug 8, 2018
Loading...