Temporary solution for mixer plugging.

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by Boosire, Nov 6, 2017.

1. Boosire

Boosire Producer

Hey there.

So i just got offered a zed60 14fx http://www.allen-heath.com/media/ZED_60_14FX_Front_2800.jpg for my birthday and i am completely new to using mixers.

The only two ways i can conenctit to my audio interface are Female xlr outputs or usb connection (these are ancient its USB1 16bit)

So the best way to plug my mixer in (would be better than this lame USB, right ?) would be to get xlr female to jack trs cables to insert in the line inputs on the back of my UR44

cf. http://static.weloveshopping.com/shop/muziccraft/extra/12956901.jpg

I have to order the cables, in the meantime i wonder if it would be a temporary option to use my mic cables and plug the xlr male part on the front panel of the ur44 in the mic inputs. Is it made to receive that kind of power or is it solely for mics ?

Thank you in advance

3. Inputs 3&4 on the ur44 are line. Though I think that without a usb2 output to utilize all the outputs and/or outputs you will not really be able to use the whole functionality of the Zed. Why do you feel that you need this mixer, do you have a bunch of outboard that you want to bring inboard?

4. Oimsio

Oimsio Ultrasonic

hi there
    why temporary?
    you have a choice : do you want to understand how it works?
    what do you want to achieve?
    a soudcard is a mixer (laptop or computer)
    in the mixer you have 8 in with 2 hiz (guitar bass etc) and all the good feature (low cut, solo semi parametric eq ect)
    at your fingertips 8+2 in ( but only 4 simultaneous )12 out (mixer and soundcard) + 3 headphones.
    so a paper and a pen, out always on the in, and the question : what do you want to achieve?.
    how to calibrate a soundboard :

two hours and your set is done
    don't forget the center of all : computer or laptop. the only exit you want to hear (out soundcard)
    I hope it helps.