synth presets...assign them 1 per note on midi keyboard?

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by stav, Jun 11, 2024.

  1. stav

    stav Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 25, 2024
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is there a way to assign lets say 100 presets 1 per key on keyboard?

    i think it would be the quickest way to preview how they sound even though you don't get the full range you can instantly hear if a sound is what u looking for
     
  2.  
  3. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    6,539
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    It would be on a per-plugin-basis, if you could even do this. You can do it with Samplers, Kontakt, Falcon, etc; creating a new zone per key/sample. That kind of workflow "will work". But what you are asking is for presets, and presets are plugin-specific. Some plugins are just better for previews than others; like Omnisphere, Nexus and so on.
     
  4. orbitbooster

    orbitbooster Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    569
    100? If you want a dedicated keyswitches keyboard I think 88 is the largest number of presets.
    I guess Gig Performer and similar can do that, though I never used it.

    If instead you want to play a keyboard like a drumkit set but with conventional synth pitched notes, I don't know.
    There could be some MIDI plugin that could route program change AND pitched note togheter (duh?).
     
  5. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    6,539
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    you can load an entire bank of synth presets you want easily enough, that makes this sound like a solution in search of a problem. You would actually be adding more patches to listen to, because normally you would skip all the sounds you do not even need to audition. Like skipping a whole page of drum presets when you are looking for a tuba.
     
  6. Backtired

    Backtired Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    661
    if your problem is previewing lots of presets quickly, surely there's a way to assign a key shortcut (or even midi signal) to the plugin's "next preset". (maybe one some daws is more complex, but in the end you can always make some rude hacks with autohotkey simulating a click on the screen)
    you could even make a macro that works like this:
    - press A on your keyboard
    - simulate mouse click at position x.y (the arrow that selects the next preset, etc. depends on plugin)
    - send midi signal/simulate note playing however you want
    of course, you'd have to do this per plugin, and make sure not to move the plugin window. practical? NOT AT ALL, but it should work.
     
  7. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    6,539
    Likes Received:
    2,834
    if you are using a keyboard controller, you could send the next preset change directly to the plugin. That still ends up with only 1 preset loaded in the virtual instrument plugin simultaneously.

    How many presets do you really need to check? This is an example of getting good at the wrong things. :bow:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - synth presets assign Forum Date
GMS (FL Studio's native synth) 37 FREE presets +12 custom osc waveforms Presets, Patches Mar 24, 2024
What synth saves presets as smpr format? Software Feb 26, 2024
What are the vst synths that has Access Virus TI type of presets Software Jul 19, 2022
Free Synth Presets - 19/07/22 Presets, Patches Jul 19, 2022
Anniversary marked with free presets by Francis Preve and a new Synth Vault Presets, Patches Jul 3, 2022
Loading...