Sync folders/folders over LAN?

Discussion in 'PC' started by ArticStorm, Mar 30, 2021.

  1. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    I am looking for an easy solution to sync folder over LAN, i have a Sample folder, where i add still samples, but right now i copy and overwrite with a pendrive, since its just 6GB big.

    Internal WiFi is fast enough to give 6MB/s down and up.

    Any suggestions, HOMEGROUPS do not work right now.
     
  2.  
  3. Funk U

    Funk U Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    163
    You don't need homegroups, mine is not on I don't think. Either way, it's not on for all the things that my other family members use. Printers, etc. If the computer with the samples can already access the network, then you should just be able to right click on the folder or drive in question and go to the share tab and turn on sharing. Then the sample computer and the shared folder should be visible when you click on Network in Windows.
     
  4. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    network discovery cant be turned on for private networks, when i select it and save changes it back to turned off, when im checking back.
    So the computer is invisible in the network and cant see other computers. Any Ideas?
     
  5. oldskoolproductions

    oldskoolproductions Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    66
    once you make your PC discoverable the the "Video, Music and Pictures: should be accessible from any computer via Wi-fi. Otherwise you would probably need a NAS drive to properly share files over the network.. This is from what I understand... But I am not a computer Genius...
     
  6. Funk U

    Funk U Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    163
    Well, if the computer you are trying to copy from can't even access the network in general, that's your first problem that needs to be addressed. Because my workstation, has the same problem you mention about network discovery that you have. But my laptop and render slaves all have network discovery on. The point is, I can still access the the drives or folders that are shared even on my workstation, assuming I turn it on first. What about the other network options? Do you have file and printer sharing turned on. This is the only option I make sure to have checked on all my computers.

    Also, right this second, I can't access the shared folders from my workstation on my laptop, but both computers can see and use the network printers. However, if I reset both computers they should see each other again.

    If you can't turn on network discovery still. Try connecting to a new public network, then just reconnect to the home/work network and see if it will make a new network connection, that will then let you turn on network discovery.
     
  7. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5,601
    Likes Received:
    3,046
    Location:
    Europe
    It's been ages since I did that, but perhaps assigning manual IPs (no DHCP) you could work-around the no discovery thing.
    But that's for ethernet, I don't know if you can do that with WiFi.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. lbnv

    lbnv Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    118
    @ArticStorm

    May be, I don't understand what you want to achieve... Syncing folders isn't sharing them, isn't it? There is one folder and its content is the same as content of another one on a different computer.

    I use GoodSync for this. I sync my files to my NAS first and then get them on an active PC. It's a paid program but there are many free alternatives: SyncBack Free, SyncFolders etc. SyncThing is very useful for me (I use it to sync files between my smartpone, my tablet and PC, it works over LAN too, without Internet, but establishing connection is a bit tricky). They all can access other computers over LAN. Both a source and a destination must be online at the same time though, this is the single condition.

    Also it's possible to use any router with USB that can read pendrives or HDD. You put a pendrive or HDD in a router and it becomes visible in your LAN. Then just sync all the files over pendrive (to it and from it, on different computers in your network) with any capable program.

    If this isn't possible, the way is using any cloud drive. But this is not LAN...
     
  9. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    okay i have to add, the one pc in connected via cable, the other one via WIFI? they have fixed IP adresses in the network, which i already know.
     
  10. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    but for this you need to see the computers in the network, so to speak you have to link to the network folder from the pc and thats not working for me.

    I cant use a cloud and i wont, also for privacy reason and that the upload speed is way to slow - 5GB would take 4h to upload, in that time i had 20 times copied the 5GB via pendrive7HDD.
    i have used sophos lan messenger manager to transfer files directly over LAN, like movies - then i have these 6MB/s, which is fine and 5GB would transfered in okay time. but its not a solution for sending sample folder and sync it?

    Like i said computers do not see each, one has this network discovered one, the other refused to let this setting stick. And i tried to force it over gpedit to let it stick, wasnt working either.
     
  11. lbnv

    lbnv Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    118
    Try SyncThing, it doesn't require for your computers to see one another in LAN. Or Resilio Sync. Files in both cases are synced by bittorrent. Over Intenet or over LAN only, you can choose how.

    EDIT: Resilio Sync is a bit simpler and a bit more user friendly.
     
  12. lbnv

    lbnv Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    118
    Free version of Resilio Sync is absolutely useful.
     
  13. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    Again for both i need to link it to a folder i want to sync and this is not working.
    I cant enable sharing of the folders, therefore cant select anything to use for example SyncToy.

    do you have a tutorial for resilio sync? Tried it got lost in the process setting it up
     
  14. lbnv

    lbnv Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    118
    No.

    You install Resilio Sync on both computers. Then you connect your devices. There are QR-codes for smartphones or codes (similar to serials) to connect without a phone. You may send them by e-mail. Then when your devices have been connected you pick folders you want to sync with other PC. On each computer separetely. And they will be synced automatically. But both computers must be online.

    Resilio Sync and SyncThing are very similar to Softros Lan Messenger.

    Tutorial... Read their help.

    https://help.resilio.com/hc/en-us
     
  15. lbnv

    lbnv Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    118
    "Must be online" means they works (aren't shut down) and are connected to LAN or Internet.
     
  16. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    as a matter of fact, any decent external USB 3.0 SSD is around 5x faster than 1 Gbit network LAN, so even if you copy twice, it's still 2.5x faster than 1 Gbit network LAN
    about WiFi, expect speeds 10-50x slower than USB 3.0

    speaking of network transfers, just launch Run dialog (Win+R hotkey) and type the target IP address and disk label, such as for ex. \\192.168.0.10\c$
    just fill the login/passwords of your target PC user, and there you go
    no need for homegroup, shared folders or network discovery bullshit
    :chilling:
     
  17. lbnv

    lbnv Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    118
    Faster? In this case (as I understand) you have to connect an external drive, copy files manually, then connect the drive to another PC and copy files again. Again and again. Every day. It's better when somebody makes this job instead of you :chilling:
     
  18. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    1,065
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    and yet it's faster than 1Gbit LAN :yes:
    plus since he uses two computers, he needs to walk to them anyway
     
  19. naitguy

    naitguy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    Canada
    I do things similar to tzzsmk when it comes to accessing other PCs over the network.

    I refer to the PC by device name rather than IP though, and it works. It'll show in settings-> about what the device name is. (you could also set up DNS, and static LAN ips on your router to refer to specific computers in another "friendly named" way too)

    On top of that, I do some other things.. some of which might be a little unnecessary, but this is what I do:
    1) create a local user on the target machine for the access
    2) right click on folder or drive i want to share, pick properties, go to sharing tab click advanced sharing, check off share this folder. Click OK
    3) Next, set up permissions under the security tab by clicking "Edit" here, and adding in my user, and assigning the appropriate permissions I need.

    Then, on the other machine, I connect to it with something liek:

    \\DEVICE-NAME\MUSICSHARE

    I'll then be prompted for the credentials of the user that I set up in step 1.

    I log on to my laptop and my desktop using the same microsoft account.. I swear I used to not have to do step 1 (creating a share user) before, but for some reason now I do.. maybe that started happening in Windows 10... or maybe that was with Homegroups. Anyways, it works this way for me, and I don't mind being prompted to logon.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  20. EHCanadian

    EHCanadian Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Canada, EH
    rclone, robocopy and rsync will do that for you.
     
  21. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    5,583
    Likes Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    here you need to deactivate the tracker feature, to only share your data over LAN, thats where i gave up as i tried it. the tutorials, i found were very complicated and inconclusive how to do it.

    maybe when i have time - i will try it again with resilio.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Sync folders folders Forum Date
Review Synchron Woodwinds by Vienna Symphonic Library Software Reviews and Tutorials Jan 13, 2022
Review: Synchron Percussion III by Vienna Symphonic Library Software Reviews and Tutorials Oct 31, 2021
Resonant / hard sync sound how to make "that" sound Oct 19, 2021
is out of sync ? I try to update some NI Plugs Software Oct 6, 2021
First Look: Synchron Brass by Vienna Symphonic Library Software Reviews and Tutorials Jul 15, 2021
Loading...