suggestions on 61 key midi controller

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by Herr Durr, Mar 31, 2016.

1. Herr Durr

Herr Durr Guest

hello all... have been using 49 for the longest, but some pieces I am studying would be more
    playable with an extra octave or so...

I am looking at the Roland A-800 Pro , or the Novation SL MK2

so far I have read that the Roland has had some negatives on the ease of assigning the controls, and
    the SOS review of the Novation made it sound just "ok" , so I'm not yet convinced either way

anyone have thoughts on these? or maybe a controller I had not considered yet?
    not so interested in akai, unless someone wants to make a special case for those..

graci..

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 31, 2016
  3. MNDSTRM

MNDSTRM Platinum Record

Personally, I'd go for the Advance 61 or the NI S61. These are a little pricey but software integration seems to be the future of controllers. And investing in a piece of gear that you use everyday is always a good idea. I bought my Max49 5 years ago when it was pretty much the most expensive controller per octave and I'm still finding new features and workflows with it.

I personally like Akai key beds, every key played on my Max 49 feels intentional. The Advance has less "Akai-ish" key bed, feels more natural ie softer and less springy.

The SL61 at this point is about 7 years old, and Automap is more or less dead (good I've always hated it, fortunately S1 natively does the same job)

The mod/pitch joy stick on the A-500 is cool, but the connections are awkwardly placed on the side which would make cable management a huuuge pain. (its really weird they did this, they do it with 25 key controllers so you can push them up to a laptop but on a 61 key??)

One thing you might want to look out for is the Alesis VX series which is pretty much a cheaper Advance (sister companies). Currently only a 49 key is out but I'd be willing to bet a 61 key will be coming soon.

• Like Like x 2