StudioLive AR vs Yamaha MG with Studio One?

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by EddieXx, Jan 14, 2022.

  1. EddieXx

    EddieXx Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    607
    Hi there,

    im getting a mixer (12 or 16 ch). either a StudioLive AR (https://www.presonus.com/press/press-releases/StudioLive-ARc) or a Yamaha MG (https://www.yamaha.com/en/about/design/synapses/id_066) because i got tired of connecting stuff back and forth.

    just curious to hear from anyone here of your experience using any of these mixers with Studio One but also in general. i wonder if there is any real advantage in using the Presonus one instead of the Yamaha or any other thoughts

    im sure at least someone either has one or knows a bit about these models.

    cheers!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2022
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    783
    I have the AR8 and like it well enough so far.
    I have been unable to test it as i wanted for portable recording.
    I've done tests with that at home and it seems to work great.
    No driver issues.
    The knobs I do not like much, being used to a Mackie 1202, but they may hold up well..only time will tell.
    I'll be very interested in seeing a comparison of these 2 though.
     
  4. clone

    clone Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    420
    One MG16XU owner wrote this in an otherwise positive review: "The USB recording feature is a nice extra to capture performances, but do not buy this if your primary intention is to record audio.". rough.

    I'd lean towards the Presonus anyway; it will have been tested more with the DAW. But, do you want this thing to become your audio interface? What kind do you already have?
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2022
  5. EddieXx

    EddieXx Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    607
    Not really, I have a studio68 Presonus connected to my stationary desktop. primarily it’s to not have to always boot my desktop to use my monitors and to not have to keep always connecting and disconnecting stuff from my audio interface. Tired of pulling cables across.

    Anything else will be a bonus, but sure multitracking is great. So I’m leaning towards the presonus too hehe.

    I think they should offer more stereo inputs rather than mono, feels like many look for a way to incorporate stereo sources/gadgets and need very few mono channels, that’s my case at least.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2022
  6. clone

    clone Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    420
    if all you want is to not boot your laptop and have active monitors, you might be able to just use a Mackie Big Knob and save a few hundred bucks on a mixer. To avoid cable pulling, a patchbay is always the way to go for that. They are low tech, cheap, and never break anyway.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - StudioLive Yamaha Studio Forum Date
YAMAHA RUio16-D Soundgear Jan 18, 2022
Selling Yamaha HS5 Pair, Focusrite Solo, Arturia Keylab 61 MIDI Keyboard Selling / Buying Dec 10, 2021
Yamaha HS5 vs KRK Rokit5 G4 Studio Sep 3, 2021
Yamaha, Roland, Fender, Thomann, Music Store fined €21m for price-fixing Lounge Aug 6, 2021
Yamaha Motif XF/MOXF - free libraries from EasySounds emails Instruments Jul 19, 2021
Loading...