Studio One X 4.5

Discussion in 'Studio One' started by farao, May 25, 2019.

  1. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    358
    I have Studio One X kind of working thanks to the files posted by @mono in the request thread for Studio one 4.5.

    Some of the features pops up an error though. For instance when using the actions in the submenus Select, Tools, Length, Dynamics and Transpose.

    Anyone else with these problems with Studio One X in 4.5?

    Anyone with a solution?
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2019
  2.  
  3. audiozuser76

    audiozuser76 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    15
    Studio One v4 are the absolute nightmare and horror shit.
    I’m legit user of Studio One since v2, was always very satisfied with it.
    Mostly the v3 was a great release, rock solid stable and already with a lot great features.
    But the v4 release was from the beginning buggy, buggy and once again: BUGGY!!!
    Presonus are doing now that, what Steinberg is doing since years.
    New features as sales argument, but no bugfixing of old shit.
    The same belong to their hardware, the Faderport are crappy shit.
    The positioning from the motorised Fader are always “beside” the target value.
    The Atom controller are the same Shit, additionally buggy like shit.
    I’t shows mostly wrong colours of the DrumPads, sometimes you’re on Track-1, but the shit display you colours from Instrument of Track-2, and so on…
    For now I’m done with Presonus, they develop them self to be really worst Company.

    In the attached picture you can see the result of "atomized" ATOM Controller.
    I lost my patience for this piece of buggy shit... ATOM get atomized.JPG
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 5
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • List
  4. E'jAy

    E'jAy Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Under The Sky
    Even i tried and got failed studio one x over Studio one 4.5 ! waiting for the Resolved Studio one X Package :)
     
  5. korte1975

    korte1975 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Ireland
    you must be on mac ? i've never had a single glitch with v4
     
  6. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,131
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    Location:
    Europe
    Remember guys that Studio One X is not only discontinued but explicitly not supported by Studio One.
    Thanks to the skills and hard work of nice people like @mono we can have it working but there's still errors with no easy fix.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  7. voidSeeker

    voidSeeker Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    37
    Please recycle that properly...
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  8. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    @audiozuser76 That bad temper just cost you some $$. Ironically, the sad part is that the company you hate ended up with your $$. Next time, take a deep breath brother. Do not destroy equipment. As much as you hated it, it could have been of use to someone who cant afford it. Remember, you can always get VST's for free but for the hardware you must pay if you want to play. Just a free advice from someone who gets frustrated on a daily basis by equipment that costs in the hundreds of thousand of dollars...and I can't take a hammer to it.
    On a different note, on a Faderport once you have calibrated the faders they are pretty accurate. The problem is that we tend to look at the numbers on the board instead of looking at the numbers the numbers in the little lcd window on top of each individual fader. That is where you should look for accuracy. After calibration and adjusting sensitivity they are accurate to 0.0db.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • List
  9. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    358
    So, does anyone of you NOT get an error popup when selecting from the Studio One X 4.5 submenus Select, Tools, Length, Dynamics and Transpose?
     
  10. Ralthrer

    Ralthrer Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have the same issue but it doesn't really matter. Most if not all functionality of those menus are already added in version 4.5 so you can use those menus or put them into shortcuts and do the same things.

    Also if you want to use the Studio One X functions for the stuff that pops out the errors you can use the "R" scripting menu to make Macros out of them and put on keybinds the same commands and through keybinds they commands are completed without any error messages.

    The only things that are really needed -at least from me- from Studio One X are the Articulation Assistant, middle mouse navigation and full screen mode and thanks to @mono those work perfectly :)
     
  11. vanhaze

    vanhaze Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    183
    I am a S1 - mac version user, using S1 version 4.5.
    I wonder if this is possible (but i assume it is not):

    A S1-PC version user would save Studio One X functions that are not available in S1 version 4.5, as Macro's.
    A S1-mac user could then import those Macro's in S1 and they would work without problem, thus adding Studio One X functionality
    in S1-mac.


    Maybe some Studio One / Studio One X Guru could chime on this ?
     
  12. guy incogniyo

    guy incogniyo Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
  13. ahjs

    ahjs Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    19
    The problem is again the "ccltext.dll" file.
    This file was changed in version 4.5 and has a different size than in the previous versions. This is probably where the bugs come from. The old ccltext.dll file is no longer compatible with 4.5.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  14. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,131
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    Location:
    Europe
    I've spent quite some time digging in this Studio One X mess and it seems the big problem is that Studio One is deeply scriptable exposing most of its features to a Javascript API.But this API is a secret for us users...

    Except for f*ing gurus like S1X developer (and commercial companies of course). Though this man made things that fall into the "hacking" category, stuff I still don't understand.

    Oh, and the ice on the cake: he obfuscated the S1 X Javascript code, something nobody but him seems to know how. So nobody can compile a documentation based on his work.
    [Very very long shot] It's even possible he embedded some JS code in another dlls, that'd explain that mp3 and other dll problems. Bur just a wild uninformed guess.[/End of very very long shot]
    Life sucks... :facepalm::suicide:
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2019
  15. Ralthrer

    Ralthrer Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Another issue I just noticed with @mono files on Studio One X, is that I can't export mp3. It shows that it exports but when it is finished it is deleted automatically.

    Unfortunately, that makes Studio One X unusable for me :(

    Anyone else has this issue?
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  16. Fudsey Plange

    Fudsey Plange Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Fuqnose
    Does any documentation at all, however trivial, on this API exist?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  17. mono

    mono Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    Floating Amongst the Stars
    @Ralthrer
    Maybe it was best to just let it go after the 4.14 update
    we win some we lose some but in the end it's the thought that counts.:wink:
     
  18. Ralthrer

    Ralthrer Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    @mono
    If you can't fix it then I don't have any hope of making Studio One X work properly. Depending on my level of frustration I will either go on 4.1.4 with the Studio One X, or stay at 4.5 without Studio One X, or stay at 4.5 with Studio One X and export as wav and convert those wav files to mp3 in another DAW when needed :)

    Anyway, again huge thanks for all your effort @mono and for providing the files for Studio One X, even though it doesn't work for me your effort and work must be appreciated :)
     
  19. fredboudin

    fredboudin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    crash fest on El Capitan, previous versions were stable.
     
  20. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,131
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    Location:
    Europe
    No, only for pro devs, perhaps even only Presonus devs.
    I digged a lot and there are Studio One macro/script experts that struggle a lot to kind of "reverse engineer" this hidden API but there's only few things discovered.
    These guys say the Studio One X creator was in another whole different Galaxy when it comes to this knowledge. Probably affiliated with Presonus at some point or another.
    Besides, a regular script can be extracted of the package and examined but somehow this guy managed to prevent this. It's usually called "code obfuscation" in the programming slang.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  21. Fudsey Plange

    Fudsey Plange Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Fuqnose
    Cheers.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Studio Forum Date
Does anyone know where to find Cinematic Studio Strings (CSS)? Samplers Monday at 2:57 PM
Studio One 4.5.3 Crash FIX [TUTORIAL] Mac OS Studio One Monday at 9:46 AM
Studio One 4.5.3 Released! Studio One Sep 3, 2019
Using midi controll FX like Polyverse Manipulator in studio one Studio One Sep 3, 2019
Studio One Chords from Biab Plugin Studio One Aug 31, 2019
Loading...