Studio One Eating HD

Discussion in 'Studio One' started by funkytoe, Jul 28, 2017.

  1. funkytoe

    funkytoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    Noticed that Studio One is eating my Hard Drive.......
    Probably because of the New undo History,,,,,,,
    Have to delete under user\AppData\Roaming\Presonus\dmp files (Win7)
    It stored almost 2Gigs.....

    Just Info......
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. mrfloyd

    mrfloyd Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    81
    Thnx for the tip
     
  4. Fudsey Plange

    Fudsey Plange Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Fuqnose
    Hi funkytoe, .DMP files are generated when STudio One crashes.
     
  5. funkytoe

    funkytoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
  6. Blazin

    Blazin Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    In my own world...
    Sounds like something else is eating your SSD drive lols. 5 gig of space? that is not great. Time to get a bigger SSD imo :)
     
  7. G String

    G String Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    221
  8. funkytoe

    funkytoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
  9. Blazin

    Blazin Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    In my own world...
    I am not judging you cause I had to buy a 4TB drive just for my kontakt libraries lol
     
  10. Acid

    Acid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the info.

    Does anyone know where the undo history is stored?
     
  11. Aliens

    Aliens Guest

    It's written in the first post.

    Go to S1 settings and turn auto save off if it's such a worry on minimal systems.
     
  12. Acid

    Acid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    ?

    The location in the OP are the dump files created when S1 crashes (As Fudsey said in post 3)

    Does turning off auto save affect the undo history?
     
  13. Aliens

    Aliens Guest

    It affects it by not making any more. It doesn't alter those pre existing files. I'm talking auto back ups, not undo history.


    As for the location, I'll have to investigate further.

    "The Undo History menu, accessed under Edit/History, enables you to view and step through virtually every editing function
    that has occurred since a document was opened. Simply click on any edit in the list to instantly roll the document back to the
    point where that edit was made.
    Note that the history is cleared when a document is closed but remains intact when the document is saved and kept open."

    User Data
    Any content you create using Studio One is automatically stored in the location you specify. This includes Songs, Projects,
    Effects Presets, and all of the files these categories contain. All of your creative output can be logically organized and kept
    in a single place, which makes future location and backup a breeze.
    When creating a new Song or Project, the User Data folder is the default save location. While we recommend using this
    location, you can specify any save location when creating any new Song or Project.
    Engage the Auto Save Documents option to automatically save any open document at a specified interval of time.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 23, 2017
  14. Acid

    Acid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Interesting, thanks for the tip. I'm still on an older version (without global undo) but will be upgrading any day now.
     
  15. Aliens

    Aliens Guest

    I quoted from the manual above.

    From memory, before I turned auto back up off, the files were written to the song folder being worked on at the time. I just deleted these.
    Looks like undo history gets deleted on closing a song, unless saved and left open. I do not know of a specific location for these, but sounds like a temp file.
    Dmp files are indeed crash reports. I delete them as for me it's usually been a plug in fail that creates them, though as a legit user, they may have value in certain circumstances.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Studio Eating Forum Date
FL Studio Template (MrSuicideSheep, Chill Nation Style)feat. Veela FL Studio Yesterday at 1:58 PM
Question about the FL studio RSA2048 keygen FL Studio Yesterday at 1:51 PM
Fl studio keygen problem FL Studio Sunday at 10:46 AM
Studio One bounce and export issue Studio One Wednesday at 5:28 AM
FL Studio 12.5.1.5 - R2R keygen FL Studio Dec 5, 2017
Loading...