Studio One Advanced Tutorials

Discussion in 'AudioSex Academy' started by Mostwest, Jan 23, 2015.

  1. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    hi guys, how is going? i've seen on youtube some cool videos but too basics IMO. i'm thinking of doing some advanced and in-depth tutorials on Studio One. But before i start i wanna know from Audiosex community and studio one users (and of course other daw user) what they wanna know about this daw.

    i'm thinking to talk about this topics:

    -Musicloops
    -Transform & render features (not export)
    -Timestretching
    -Preset organization, Fx chains
    -Bend tool (warp in Live)
    -Basic for a podcast (just how to mix track, not technical stuff) like in Live
    -Macro commands (create your own) [only if requested]
    -EDM track [only if requested by many users]
    -Metronomo (create your own)
    -Songs management (create new versions, export preset from song to song and stuff like that)

    let me know guys, What you wanna learn??

    EDIT:

    -What to do when a song doesn't open and how to fix it
     
  2.  
  3. farao

    farao Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    211
    Yes, yes, yes! Awesome!

    I know a lot of people, including me, that think Studio One is great, but need more in-depth tutorials.

    Please start right away! *yes*

    Can't wait!

    :wink:
     
  4. yabiss

    yabiss Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    99
    EDM track
     
  5. filtersweep

    filtersweep Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    101
    i could definitely use some of these topics explained a little clearer. song management etc and preset organization would be top of the list. any 'advanced' tutorials at all would be a bonus, there is a real paucity of tuts for studio one, i wonder why...
     
  6. Kobayashi Maru

    Kobayashi Maru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    UK
    Everything!!!!

    There is not enough Studio One videos in this world!

    I want to learn as much possible about Studio One that I can & music production in general.

    I'm grateful for any videos you decide to do.

    All the topics you mentioned above sound relevant.

    If you decide to make a track that is a bonus to me! Be it EDM, Techno, Trance, Acid Techno (Cough Cough)or whatever style I'm definitely Interested.

    Thanks for the post, Looking forward to your videos bud! :thumbsup: :mates:

    :bow:
     
  7. 5teezo

    5teezo Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    214
    Chopping samples is just so insanely easy with Studio One, it's just stupid! I think I need to step away from maschine and only use it for drum programming. Mixing and routing is simple well. Really love it.
     
  8. Sarawak_Sam

    Sarawak_Sam Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    i want learn how to make studio one tempo match pre-recorded song with not steady tempo.

    not stretch - keep audio same - jus change S1 bpm to match audio.

    please
     
  9. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    You can edit the tempo track with the slice tool, the most important part is to cut it exactly in the right point/section where the change happen and then add the correct bpm tempo.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Evorax

    Evorax Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Bowerstone Castle
    Hi Mostwost, do you think that the Tempo in S1 can be automated in a smooth way? (as you can do in Bitwig/FL) Or it just transits in the steep way i see in your screenshot above? :dunno:
    I always wandered if S1 could smoothly change its tempo across the time line as you can do with automation points in other daws.
    P.S. S1 is my main daw as well, but i always wondered if there's any workaround for that.
     
  11. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208

    Studio One can't smoothly change the bpm of the song, i believe that developers thought about it and then they decided to not do it. And since S1 doesn't work as slave daw i think that neither 3rd party vst/daw can work with it such way.
     
  12. Catalyst

    Catalyst Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    642
    That is quite simply retarded. Also no way to set up polymeters. Why is that a problem in every DAW? 21st century, can't have one track in one time signature and one in another. :dunno: :dunno: :dunno:
     
  13. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    I believe that i'm a lucky guy since Studio One has everything i need, for the future i would you like to see a better tool for automation curve and an internal 32 bit vst wrapper and then i'll be 120% happy.
     
  14. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    UPDATE
    guys i decided to start with Musicloop because on youtube there are only 1 video about it, then i'll do Preset managment, Metronomo (because i need it for times), timestretch, song managment requested by filtersweep, transform features and the others.

    For the EDM track guys be patient because right now i have just a little bit of free time and i have to finish 1-2 tracks from Logic Pro X. But i'll do it for sure :wink:
     
  15. Catalyst

    Catalyst Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    642
    That's great news Mostwest, looking forward to it. Concerning time signatures, it's actually a common technique to run different meters against each other. Don't think it's only for orchestral or anything. I've heard some great uses of it in different electronic genres. Silly to me that this is an issue for practically every DAW out there. Ridiculous really.
     
  16. Kobayashi Maru

    Kobayashi Maru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    UK
    Really appreciate you doing these videos bud. :bow:

    Can't wait!

    You know what they say,





    :thumbsup:
     
  17. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    the first video is in the upload state, i'll post here as soon possible
     
  18. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    ok guys here is the first video

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1VP0gqYOc8

    right now i'm facing some common mistakes and problems since is my first video recording and first video on YouTube

    i've recorded it highest quality settings and rendereder at highest settings but @720p the video quality is terrible, i'll fix it also for the next videos, i hope you enjoy it anyway.

    feel free to post it wherever you want
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Presonus Studio One In-Depth 1 - Musicloop

    in this video a talk about Musicloop format in these topics you can skip some parts if you know already somethigs:


    Chapters:

    -What is it a Musicloop? (0.00)

    -Create & save a Musicloop (2.03)

    -Save a Musicloop from a Multiouput Drum vsti and Multioutput Kontakt (9.41)

    -Some notations on Musicloop (15.13)

    -EDM Bonus: Create a lfo pitchbended riser like Showtek and Dubvision (18.22)

    -Final thoughts (25.48)


    Here is two Musicloops for free

    FX Showtek Riser

    https://www.sendspace.com/file/mjyo65


    LD plucked A min

    https://www.sendspace.com/file/8sxpxy
     
  19. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    Some updates
    i'll call this serie of tutorial "In-Depth" And i'll run alongside a new serie called "Now!". This feature will be made of quick videos (just a couple of minutes) of features that require me only a couple of minutes to be explained. i' ll not talk about basic options because there are already some cool videos, i'm thinking of those kind of things:

    -How to duplicate an instrument
    -Studio One, Audio& midi icons, meaning
    -1 keyboard 10 sounds: use one keyboard to play 3-4 instruments at the same time thru midi ranges
    -1 track different output, creates output wich will be different from your monitor output
    -Automation follow events, copy/paste/duplicate them
    -midi orchestration
    -create a track/mixing template
    -link parameters to controller

    and stuff like that, just from 2-3 minutes video each, while big videos will be featured on "In-Depth" playlist


    Let me know what you think guys: i'm too slow, too fast?? Do you think my videos needs some calm background music?? :break:
     
  20. Catalyst

    Catalyst Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    642
    That sounds great Mostwest, thanks a lot for taking the time to do this. Very cool. :mates:
     
  21. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    208
    New video guys
    This we'll be featured in my NOW! playlist

    Presonus Studio One Now! - Play & Record multiple Instruments with one controller:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoYKFsGrG-4

    -Set up a midi controller

    -Set up midi ranges and play & record multiple instruments at the same time
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Studio Advanced Tutorials Forum Date
FL Studio Custom/Advanced Mixer Slots Coloring FL Studio Feb 25, 2014
Fl studio vst and effects in another Daw DAW Saturday at 1:33 PM
Where is FL Studio 12.5 R2R link? FL Studio Tuesday at 12:32 PM
Studio one 3 - Can you set play & record on midi input ? Studio One Aug 14, 2017
Studio gear connection help (interface and channel strip) Soundgear Aug 12, 2017
Loading...