Studio one 4.6 CPU Problem

Discussion in 'Studio One' started by Ayc, Mar 29, 2021.

1. Ayc

Ayc Ultrasonic

Hi there,

I've been using studio one for 2 years now, i'm using the 4.6 version that has been the most stable for me, but recently i see this strange behavior for example:

1 instance of X plugin at the beginning of the mixing stage is using 10 % of the cpu but the same plugin with the same settings is using 17% cpu when the project is more full, maybe this is the way it works and i didn't realize.

I'm using 16 gb of ram + ryzen 2700 (8 core). 44.1 Khz, 1024 samples.

3. Ariel Gonzalez

Ariel Gonzalez Platinum Record

why so much buffer??? my little 2 core laptop cpu handles a lot of plugins on a high-count track sessions..... there is a possibility that something is not working on your computer

4. Beetlejuice

Beetlejuice Ultrasonic

As far as I understand:
    -The more instruments, plugins, effects are on one (1!) mixerchannel...the more one (1!) core will be pushed.
    Studio One will not outsource tasks ,from one channel to one of the other cores.
    This does not mean that SO isnĀ“t multicore capabal.
    So on a heavyplugin(ed) track , maybe render out the audio, and go from there.
    just my 5 cents.

5. hackerz4life

hackerz4life Audiosexual

but taskforce told us scan.uk tests are right and you are wrong. swap your ryzen for a fast i7 and you will solve most of your problems.
    thank me later.

6. quadcore64

quadcore64 Audiosexual

Have you read this article from Presonus?
    Managing CPU usage in Studio One and overcoming high CPU problems on your system.

16GB of memory is the bare minimum and, should be matched. Same speed, same type, same brand.
    Studio One like Pro Tools works best with Workstation grade components. The better "gaming" boards have those features.

You should also consider upgrading to the latest version of Studio One (5.2.0). Plenty of fixes & improvements since 4.6.