Studio Monitors up to 7" that translate well.

Discussion in 'Studio' started by fnord23, May 29, 2023.

1. fnord23

fnord23 Ultrasonic

Hello!

Currently I have the Focal Alpha 65 (6,5") they are good but have a huge footprint! Even most 7" monitors are smaller. I want speakers that are a bit smaller and are "professional", like one or two steps up in quality at least, don't want to worry about new monitors for a long time. Studio is in my appartement, treatment and REW done by myself, monitors will be close to the front wall. I've been producing electronic music for 10 years on and off and I play gigs sometimes. I do my mixdowns myself. Sub bass check on headphones, no sub planed.

I finally want a step up in quality and something that translates well to other systems, especially club/festival PAs.

The more I read the more confused I am. Price range is up to 1500€. I also buy used monitors.

Neumann KH120a so far seems like the only one that doesn't have negative comments online.

Adam a7x, a7v, Dynaudio bm5a MK3, genelec 8030c. Whatever it is, there's always so many negative reviews that they "don't translate" and so on. Wether is be hiss, tiring highs, huge dips due to bad port design, no transparency and so on. Some also have great reviews but are to big (klassik 2020) or they just have little bass (Neumann KH80dsp) or have 50/50 bad reviews (genelec 8030c).
    I know there's no one fits all but if I'm spending that kind of money I want at least something that is considered good to get the job done.

I saw on equipboard that the A7x is very popular with my genre but has bad reviews compared to genelec/Neumann everywhere.
    What do you guys use? What is good enough for professional productions and mixdown in that price range to 1500€?

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  3. 23322332

23322332 Rock Star