Stuck with 4 to 8 bars..?

Discussion in 'Internet for Musician' started by J Addison, Mar 14, 2017.

1. J Addison

J Addison Kapellmeister

Not long ago I switched from attempting to make edm to something different, but I'm struggling with ideas/progressions and have no idea what to do next, where to take it. I can usually come up with 4 to 8 bar progressions but they sound so bland. Like the example below, what would you add to make it more interesting, how would you change it? Cheers. (P.s go easy on me, I'm a newb lol)

Just to add, I put these together just as examples to ask for advice. The below examples are not mixed and will probably sound like shit but I'm not asking for mixing advice lol. Thanks

Example 1

https://cloudup.com/cMI21KqXjp1

Last edited: Mar 14, 2017
  3. flyingsleeves

flyingsleeves Platinum Record

There are a ton of different things you could do. Before getting into music theory, you could try syncopation. Instead of playing a chord on every beat, occassionally put one in an unexpected place. Alter the rhythm. And add some passing notes here and there.

You should expand your vocabulary to go beyond common triads. Try 6ths, 7ths, 9ths, 11ths, suspensions, adds, secondaries, augmented, diminished, quartal...There are a whole bunch of interesting combinations of notes that sound good together. And don't forget their many inversions and drop voicings as well. I definitely think you need to expand your vocabulary.

When you listen to music, pay attention to any chord progressions that catch your ear. Figure out the progression in relative notation (i.e. I V vi IV) so that you can play them in any key. Hooktheory and Hookpad are great resources for learning more about that kind of stuff.